ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
IRC M1307.3
by gfretwell. 08/18/18 09:08 AM
Light Pole Grounding
by Mosfet74. 08/18/18 08:42 AM
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by Bill Addiss. 08/13/18 05:52 PM
Upgrade the old panel
by gfretwell. 08/13/18 12:20 AM
depth of duckbank
by ghost307. 08/12/18 09:26 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (gfretwell), 7 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
A meter bank that holds 3? #60949
01/13/06 05:59 PM
01/13/06 05:59 PM
T
Trick440  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 248
Waterford, MI, USA
Do they make meter banks that hold 3 meters?

I have a house that was turned into a 3 unit apartment.

I was planning on using a 3 meter disconnect bank. Then going with main lug sub panels. but... .

The dryers and ranges are all old 3 wire. If I run sub fed panels I will need to upgrade these old wires. I really don't want to do that.

So I need just regular meters. I know the electric company has dual meter cans for 1 drop but I havent seen 3 meter, cans for 1 drop. .. Do they make something like this?


Shake n Bake
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: A meter bank that holds 3? #60950
01/13/06 06:25 PM
01/13/06 06:25 PM
R
Rewired  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 558
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
I believe they do. an " SDC-320-PW" I believe is a Hydell 3 gang base, 200A main, 100 A per position with a " wiring compartment" for use with O/H or U/G feed..
This is a straight meter socket with no disconnects built in, I have never seen one like that. If you need to have a form of disconnect outside, you may need a separate weatherproof disconnect for each service going in the bldg..

A.D

Re: A meter bank that holds 3? #60951
01/13/06 06:50 PM
01/13/06 06:50 PM
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
I would hope that they still did!

Around here, it is quite common to see three meters, arranged vertically, with a lower compartment tht contains a disconnect/ main breaker for each service.

The only "fly in the ointment" is that these generally have 70 amp breakers; I am not sure that such equipment is suitable for 100 amp service, which is the minimum these days.

Re: A meter bank that holds 3? #60952
01/13/06 09:34 PM
01/13/06 09:34 PM
C
Celtic  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 361
NJ
http://www.tyett.com/images/panelbox.jpg

..you mean like this?

For a 3-family, you *may* need a 4th meter - for the house/common power. Check with your AHJ about this, some areas have this requirement - some don't.


What you "want", may not be what's "required". In NJ, a substantial renovation like the one you describe (re-zoning, over 50%, etc) might trigger a complete renovation requirement.

[This message has been edited by Celtic (edited 01-13-2006).]


~~ CELTIC ~~
...-= NJ =-...
Re: A meter bank that holds 3? #60953
01/13/06 10:39 PM
01/13/06 10:39 PM
T
Trick440  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 248
Waterford, MI, USA
Yep Celtic that what I need.

Thanks for the help guys. I did talk with the inspector and took care of all his concerns inside already.. hes ok with the no house panel.


Shake n Bake

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
waymag
waymag
dallas, texas, USA
Posts: 68
Joined: January 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
248,618 Are you busy
186,361 Re: Forum
175,819 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.022s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9684 MB (Peak: 1.1059 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-08-19 04:27:41 UTC