ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by gfretwell. 09/23/18 02:50 PM
Inspection camera help
by petey_c. 09/22/18 07:52 AM
Motion detectors and dimmers
by gfretwell. 09/20/18 04:02 PM
Extension cords
by annemarie1. 09/20/18 08:54 AM
Acronis Backup 2017
by gfretwell. 09/16/18 12:46 AM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 7 guests, and 23 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
ark fault #60623
01/07/06 01:15 PM
01/07/06 01:15 PM
V
vlad_tepish  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 39
Delavan,Wis,USA
looking for info on ark fault breakers,,,two bedrooms fed with 14-3 ,they share the neut ,when I use my testor everything checks out fine ,put a load on eather room the ark fault breaker trips,,,help???


Patrick
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: ark fault #60624
01/07/06 01:31 PM
01/07/06 01:31 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,290
Estero,Fl,usa
Arc faults also provide GFP protection (30ma GFCI). Some are even GFCI (5ma). In either case you won't be able to share neutral current. This is another reason why we should be able to put the "device" style nearer the point of use than the 2005 code allows. If you could install it in the first outlet after the "split" of the multiwire it would protect the bedroom.


Greg Fretwell
Re: ark fault #60625
01/07/06 02:51 PM
01/07/06 02:51 PM
E
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
Cuttler Hammer makes a good two indivdual circuit AFCI breaker made for 3-wire.

However Vlad it sounds like you have problems circuit or the load. Troubleshooting these can be a real PITA! Contact between another neutral or ground can do that. Most often it would trip right away, but have seen some that remain on until load is applied. Isolate the circuit and check to see if any continuity between the neutral and any other ground or neutral.

Load issues could be anything... Vaccuum cleaner with electronic speed controls, LCD screens, flouresant lighting, dimmers, etc. Many manufacturers have known equipment conflicts that just wont work with the breaker at all.


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
Re: ark fault #60626
01/07/06 04:46 PM
01/07/06 04:46 PM
HCE727  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 186
Delaware County, PA, USA
I usually run a 14/2/2 if I am running 2 circuits for afci"s. I would like to check out that breaker, from Cutler Hammer.


Hank
Re: ark fault #60627
01/07/06 05:20 PM
01/07/06 05:20 PM
E
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
http://www.eatonelectrical.com/unsecure/cms1/TB00500002E.PDF

page 27 BR215AF


[This message has been edited by e57 (edited 01-07-2006).]


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
Re: ark fault #60628
01/07/06 05:30 PM
01/07/06 05:30 PM
togol  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 421
NW In. USA
I thought Wis. deleted the AFCI requirement for 2005? why not just change them out for "normal" breakers


Tom
Re: ark fault #60629
01/16/06 10:52 PM
01/16/06 10:52 PM
V
vlad_tepish  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 39
Delavan,Wis,USA
replaced the 2 single breakers with a double arkfault ,,everything is fine...thanks


Patrick

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
dougwells
dougwells
kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 1,149
Joined: May 2003
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
Trumpy 11
Popular Topics(Views)
249,406 Are you busy
187,336 Re: Forum
176,674 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9849 MB (Peak: 1.1390 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-09-23 21:56:19 UTC