ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
VFD MotorFeeders
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 10:01 PM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Generator Cable Sizing
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:13 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,356 Are you busy
177,307 Re: Forum
168,935 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 44 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#60438 - 01/02/06 08:09 PM 3 wire or 4?  
scjohn  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 74
charleston, SC, USA
On a single phase residential service, no disco, do you pull a 3 wire service entrance or a 4? I always thought that the panel or disc. was the first stop, allowing you to use the 3, and any other sub after that required the 4 wires.
Thanks, John


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#60439 - 01/02/06 08:12 PM Re: 3 wire or 4?  
Tom  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Shinnston, WV USA
If I'm reading your post correctly (that may be doubtful) you would run 3 conductors to the service disconnecting means. After that, any feeders must have an equipment ground (4th wire or metal conduit).

Tom


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.

#60440 - 01/02/06 08:25 PM Re: 3 wire or 4?  
scjohn  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 74
charleston, SC, USA
You read it right. In this case there is only a 200 amp meter, and a 200 amp main breaker in the panel box, no 'knife' switch. We have always ran 3 wires from the meter directly to the panel in this case when there was no disco between the two.


#60441 - 01/02/06 09:17 PM Re: 3 wire or 4?  
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
Local POCO won't allow a ground wire between the two, just a properly bonded conduit in RMC.


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason

#60442 - 01/02/06 09:20 PM Re: 3 wire or 4?  
Speedy Petey  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 173
Upstate, NY
Exactly. You absolutley don't want a ground between the meter and main.


Speedy Petey

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new." -Albert Einstein

#60443 - 01/02/06 09:43 PM Re: 3 wire or 4?  
scjohn  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 74
charleston, SC, USA
Is there any article in the nec refering to this? I can't find it.
Thanks again.
John


#60444 - 01/03/06 09:15 PM Re: 3 wire or 4?  
ShockMe77  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 821
Rahway, New Jersey
Article 250 would be a likely starting place.

Start here: http://www.mikeholt.com/freevideo.php?id=GVB2005

Good luck!


#60445 - 01/03/06 10:18 PM Re: 3 wire or 4?  
scjohn  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 74
charleston, SC, USA
Thanks, thats a great site. To bad my internet is running like dial up, and has been for the last few days. I guess to sum it up, is there any new revisions, or any thing wrong with runninga 3 wire seu with a bare grounded conductor from the meter base to the panel box with a main breaker? I bidded on these houses, and now the inspector says I have to run a 4 wire ser cable, almost twice the cost per foot. I would then need to seperate the ground wires from the neutral wires in the panel box to keep from a parrallel.
John


#60446 - 01/03/06 11:25 PM Re: 3 wire or 4?  
Speedy Petey  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 173
Upstate, NY
If this is a typical "riser -to meter -to main panel" setup your inspector is nuts.
Ask him where exactly he expects you to terminate the extra wire.


Speedy Petey

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new." -Albert Einstein

#60447 - 01/04/06 07:54 PM Re: 3 wire or 4?  
ShockMe77  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 821
Rahway, New Jersey
I could be wrong (it wouldn't be the first time), but it seems that inspector wants you to use the 4-wire because the 200amp main panel isn't at the nearest point of entrance as required by article 230.70 (A) (1).

Also, the grounded conductor isn't the bare conductor, that's the bonding conductor. The grounded conductor is commonly referred to as the neutral conductor.

You will have to install a service disconnect (main disconnect) at the nearest point of entry, or beneath the meter on the outside of the house. This is where your GEC (article 250.66) EGC (article 250.122), and GROUNDED conductor (article 200) from the POCO will all be bonded together to create a solidly grounded electrical system.

I hope I have helped.

Good luck!

--Ron

[This message has been edited by ShockMe77 (edited 01-04-2006).]


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Member Spotlight
RonKipperDatacom
RonKipperDatacom
Kansas City, KS
Posts: 30
Joined: January 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.022s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.8168 MB (Peak: 0.9920 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-18 11:08:42 UTC