ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by Bill Addiss. 08/13/18 05:52 PM
Upgrade the old panel
by gfretwell. 08/13/18 12:20 AM
depth of duckbank
by ghost307. 08/12/18 09:26 PM
Section 179 vehicle purchases
by BigB. 08/05/18 01:06 PM
Don't you buy this stuff
by BigB. 08/05/18 01:00 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 28 guests, and 19 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
120VAC to 12VDC #59674
12/12/05 09:57 PM
12/12/05 09:57 PM
T
triple  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 184
Wisconsin
Where can I get a transformer to convert 120VAC to 12VDC. A minimum of 10A of DC current is required. I don't need any type of housing or cords/wires. Open/exposed terminals on a transformer I can place inside a box is fine.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 120VAC to 12VDC #59675
12/12/05 10:19 PM
12/12/05 10:19 PM
D
Dnkldorf  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,064
nowhere usa
If you need 12VDC, you need a power supply with caps and circuitry. Google a 12vdc power supply.
http://www.powersupplydirect.com/ProductList.aspx?CategoryID=2998

Dnk...

[This message has been edited by Dnkldorf (edited 12-12-2005).]

Re: 120VAC to 12VDC #59676
12/12/05 11:21 PM
12/12/05 11:21 PM
T
triple  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 184
Wisconsin
Thanks Dnkldorf.
That is what I am looking for but the cost is much higher than I expected. Isn't it normally more "expensive" to convert from 12VDC to 120VAC than vise-versa? I'm sure the unit you showed me is of much higher quality than the "cheapy" 12VDC inverters at the big chain stores. However, for the same price, I can get one of those to convert DC to AC (same VA). Are there also "cheapy" versions of AC to DC converters? This is not for a job so top quality is not a necessity.

Re: 120VAC to 12VDC #59677
12/13/05 12:00 AM
12/13/05 12:00 AM
J
Joe of NJ  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 25
West Orange, NJ, USA
$85 for a 120 Watts Switching-mode DC power supply is not too much.

This one http://www.jameco.com/webapp/wcs/st...amp;catalogId=10001&productId=540728 is a linear power supply which cost $70, and is not for DIN mounting.

Joe.-

Re: 120VAC to 12VDC #59678
12/13/05 12:06 AM
12/13/05 12:06 AM
G
George  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 375
Computer power supplies have lots of 12v power and run under $30.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817148027#DetailSpecs

Re: 120VAC to 12VDC #59679
12/13/05 12:37 AM
12/13/05 12:37 AM
J
JoeTestingEngr  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 794
Chicago, Il.
Here's a 150W switcher from MPJA 12V, 12.5A <$50.00
I buy alot of stuff from these folks and always get their email specials.
Joe
http://www.mpja.com/category/Power_...UPPLY_1_DC_POWER _SUPPLY_16020_PS.asp

If you want to do your own rectifier, filter, & regulator, here is the 24VCT, 10A TX that they sell for $17.99 http://www.mpja.com/category/Transformers/24V_CT_(12-0-12)10A_TRANSFORMER_7846_TR.asp
[This message has been edited by JoeTestingEngr (edited 12-12-2005).]

[This message has been edited by JoeTestingEngr (edited 12-12-2005).]

Re: 120VAC to 12VDC #59680
12/13/05 01:41 AM
12/13/05 01:41 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,251
Estero,Fl,usa
George is on the right track. 10a out of a PC supply isn't that hard to find, probably <$10 on Ebay.


Greg Fretwell
Re: 120VAC to 12VDC #59681
12/13/05 08:00 AM
12/13/05 08:00 AM
R
resqcapt19  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,148
IL
Quote
Where can I get a transformer to convert 120VAC to 12VDC.

Just so some readers are not confused, you can't use a transformer to change AC to DC.
Don


Don(resqcapt19)
Re: 120VAC to 12VDC #59682
12/13/05 08:23 AM
12/13/05 08:23 AM
N
NJwirenut  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 806
Bergen County, NJ
A PC power supply, like most switching supplies, will not work without a minimum load on the output. For a PC supply, that load would have to be on the 5V output, not the 12V in order for the supply to start up properly.

$85 seems completely reasonable for an industrial DIN rail power supply like that.

Re: 120VAC to 12VDC #59683
12/13/05 11:11 AM
12/13/05 11:11 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,251
Estero,Fl,usa
NJ, maybe some old PC supplies need a 5vdc load to start (particularly the old IBM PC/AT supply) but I have a buttload of them that don't. I have been using an assortment of PC supplies for bench supplies. They start fine without a load. Some will shut down when the load changed significantly, some don't


Greg Fretwell
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Vlado
Vlado
Croatia
Posts: 28
Joined: February 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
248,512 Are you busy
186,207 Re: Forum
175,678 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.023s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0258 MB (Peak: 1.2006 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-08-14 21:19:09 UTC