ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Questioning the electrical norms
by LongRunner - 09/23/20 06:38 AM
Smoke & mirrors?
by HotLine1 - 09/21/20 03:42 PM
Pool Lights?
by Papa - 09/18/20 05:26 PM
Ever been afflicted by Gout?
by mbhydro - 09/15/20 05:50 PM
120/208 gives 240? please clarify
by NORCAL - 09/13/20 01:08 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 16 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: 3 wire for new construction? #59666 12/12/05 11:08 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 74
J
jkraft Offline
Member
My understanding is that dryers, ranges, and ovens need 3 wires plus a ground. A/C, well pumps, and cook tops can use 2 wires plus a ground.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: 3 wire for new construction? #59667 12/13/05 01:45 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,526
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
That "the war is over" thing was 3 cycles ago. They decided in 96 we didn't need to save the EGC copper on dryers and ranges anymore. (It started in WWII)


Greg Fretwell
Re: 3 wire for new construction? #59668 12/13/05 09:43 AM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 456
C
classicsat Offline
Member
I have heard of cooktops needing a neutral.

Re: 3 wire for new construction? #59669 12/13/05 11:19 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
renosteinke Offline
Cat Servant
Member
This does underscore the need to be specific..."3 wire" is sort of vague. For example, 12/3 NM and 12/3 MC do not have the same numberof wires! One does not 'count' the ground.

Re: 3 wire for new construction? #59670 12/13/05 12:52 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 717
M
macmikeman Offline
Member
Not to be a pain in the neck, but out of curiosity, has any of our members ever come across any real deadly situations where the older ranges or dryers using 3 wire hookups were a problem vs if they had of been 4 wire instead? I am actually for this code change, but was wondering if there was any reality based substantiation for the change, or was the change based on apprehension, foresight, or were we aligning ourselves with Canada's code as I have heard it rumored.

Re: 3 wire for new construction? #59671 12/13/05 05:10 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 79
S
Steve McKinney Offline
Member
gfretwell,

I had heard somewhere that originally "Code" required 4 wire before WWII and the ground/neutral was combined to save copper. Is that true and is that what you were referring too?

On another note, I have never seen a real problem w/3 wires in my years.

Steve

Re: 3 wire for new construction? #59672 12/13/05 06:22 PM
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
W
whatevva Offline
Junior Member
I once went for a short ride when I stood at a sink and touched a range case that had a loose aluminum ground in the panel. NOT FUN! I always recommend updating when I see 3 prong ranges and dryers.


Butch
Re: 3 wire for new construction? #59673 12/13/05 06:28 PM
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 25
J
Joe of NJ Offline
Member
Ground wires should not carry current under normal circumstances. The ground system, including its wires, is (first of all) a safety system.

Bonding neutral to ground in the appliance, or in the receptacle (even having neutral and ground conductors, or using the ground wire as neutral-ground) will cause current circulation through the ground wire and could become a real hazard if the neutral-grounding circuit is interrupted (the chassis of the appliance could be “hot” now).

Joe.-

Page 2 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Potseal
Potseal
Saskatchewan
Posts: 264
Joined: February 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 8
NORCAL 3
Popular Topics(Views)
269,996 Are you busy
204,399 Re: Forum
192,615 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3