ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 13
Admin 8
Recent Posts
OD of Alum and Copper
by Yoopersup. 08/23/17 09:05 AM
Grid problem??
by annemarie1. 08/21/17 01:10 PM
Bathroom electrical
by doc. 08/19/17 06:53 AM
electircal ageing test on IPC
by SIAME. 08/15/17 02:43 AM
electrical aging test on IPC
by gfretwell. 08/15/17 12:27 AM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
240,130 Are you busy
175,758 Re: Forum
167,949 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 57 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#57303 - 10/10/05 10:52 AM ground rods  
acetoday  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 35
Manassas, Va
I'm working on a renovated home and replacing the existing meter and SE cable due to the exterior wall being moved to make the room bigger.

The GC wants the meter installed in the same location, however a open porch will be installed in front of the new meter. My question is: Can I install my new ground rods approximately 4ft away (i.e., in front of) the new meter. Normally I would install about a ft directly in front of the meter, but with the new porch it wouldn't be accessable. I checked the code but didn't see anything from preventing me from doing this. Any thoughts?


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#57304 - 10/10/05 12:47 PM Re: ground rods  
Sixer  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 265
Canada
The POCO here won't allow a meter to be installed in an open porch. The owner may decide to close the porch in at a later date which would prevent access by the meter reader. Maybe check with your POCO first?

I install the grounding electrode, be it rods or plate, as close as possible to the service. Sometimes it may end up quite a ways away, sometimes it's right beside the service. I'm in Canada and our Codes differ from our southern neighbors.


Sixer

"Will it be cheaper if I drill the holes for you?"

#57305 - 10/10/05 01:37 PM Re: ground rods  
ngoody24  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 33
pace,FL, United States
250.30 (4).... is this any help?


#57306 - 10/10/05 07:50 PM Re: ground rods  
LK  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
New Jersey
We always check with POCO, for any meter move to a different location.


#57307 - 10/10/05 09:40 PM Re: ground rods  
Tripp  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 99
quote: "250.30(4)...is this any help?"

That article refers to separately-derived systems - not sure how/why that would apply to this situation. Is there something I missed?


#57308 - 10/11/05 08:34 AM Re: ground rods  
acetoday  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 35
Manassas, Va
All,

Thanks for the advice and comments! I've decided to have the power company verify our location before we run home runs to the wrong location.

Rather be safe than sorry.

PS I love this forum! It's really gotten me out of some stressful situations.



Member Spotlight
HappyElectrician
HappyElectrician
Penn USA
Posts: 31
Joined: December 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.015s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7754 MB (Peak: 0.9210 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-08-23 13:54:02 UTC