ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Explored: Basics of PLC
by niamishra. 10/19/18 04:44 AM
Linear Power Supply Quits Under Load
by JoeTestingEngr. 10/18/18 08:47 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by dsk. 10/17/18 01:25 PM
PLC/HMI Enclosure C2, D1
by ghost307. 10/16/18 03:31 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 5 guests, and 25 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Commercial Sub Panel #57116
10/05/05 08:22 AM
10/05/05 08:22 AM
A
acetoday  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 35
Manassas, Va
Most of my experience involves residential so I'm not sure how to handle this situation:

SPECIFICS: Customer has requested a load calculation for his restaurant. He is renting out two adjacent areas in the same building for his restaurant. Both areas have 200 AMP Meters and 200 AMP Panels. One has a 60 AMP sub Panel and the other has a 100 AMP Sub Panel.

When I checked the panel here is what I fould:

AREA 1:
The 60 AMP Load center/Sub Panel (Square D, QO)had 24 Spaces. Is it permissable to install a 60AMP Subpanel with 24 spaces?

AREA 2:
The 100 AMP Load center/Sub Panel (Square D, QO)had 8 Spaces. I'm just wondering if whoever installed these got the load centers mixed up.

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Commercial Sub Panel #57117
10/05/05 03:08 PM
10/05/05 03:08 PM
S
Steve Miller  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 325
Loudoun Cty, VA
Allowance for future work/expansion/problems is not always a priority. To the best of my knowledge both these are legal.
If the total load on all 24 ckts exceeds 60A you'll trip the main. Maybe they just needed lots of distribution with no real load anyplace.
You might check the panels ... the 60A may have 125A busses and you can rewire it accordingly. The 100 amp can be swapped for a 24 ckt version. Whatever the reason for the odd ball set up, I see nothing illegal.
Just do your calculation as if there was no panel and see what comes up. If it turns out you need more power, seems to me that's the time to consider changing all this.

[This message has been edited by Steve Miller (edited 10-05-2005).]


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Lostazhell
Lostazhell
Bakersfield, CA (Originally Orange Co.)
Posts: 1,431
Joined: February 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 11
Popular Topics(Views)
250,497 Are you busy
188,055 Re: Forum
177,697 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.017s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9434 MB (Peak: 1.0587 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-10-20 12:56:07 UTC