ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
2017 NEC Changes
by gfretwell. 12/13/17 02:44 AM
Casino Wiring methods
by HotLine1. 12/09/17 10:44 AM
Ground wire Size to water Line.
by HotLine1. 12/05/17 12:11 PM
Flexible conduit to an outside Spa
by gfretwell. 12/05/17 12:28 AM
Dimmable LED 2x4 lay in fixtures
by Vulsion. 11/30/17 06:37 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
243,025 Are you busy
179,434 Re: Forum
170,384 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (crselectric), 27 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#57116 - 10/05/05 07:22 AM Commercial Sub Panel  
acetoday  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 35
Manassas, Va
Most of my experience involves residential so I'm not sure how to handle this situation:

SPECIFICS: Customer has requested a load calculation for his restaurant. He is renting out two adjacent areas in the same building for his restaurant. Both areas have 200 AMP Meters and 200 AMP Panels. One has a 60 AMP sub Panel and the other has a 100 AMP Sub Panel.

When I checked the panel here is what I fould:

AREA 1:
The 60 AMP Load center/Sub Panel (Square D, QO)had 24 Spaces. Is it permissable to install a 60AMP Subpanel with 24 spaces?

AREA 2:
The 100 AMP Load center/Sub Panel (Square D, QO)had 8 Spaces. I'm just wondering if whoever installed these got the load centers mixed up.

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#57117 - 10/05/05 02:08 PM Re: Commercial Sub Panel  
Steve Miller  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 325
Loudoun Cty, VA
Allowance for future work/expansion/problems is not always a priority. To the best of my knowledge both these are legal.
If the total load on all 24 ckts exceeds 60A you'll trip the main. Maybe they just needed lots of distribution with no real load anyplace.
You might check the panels ... the 60A may have 125A busses and you can rewire it accordingly. The 100 amp can be swapped for a 24 ckt version. Whatever the reason for the odd ball set up, I see nothing illegal.
Just do your calculation as if there was no panel and see what comes up. If it turns out you need more power, seems to me that's the time to consider changing all this.

[This message has been edited by Steve Miller (edited 10-05-2005).]



Member Spotlight
Bill Addiss
Bill Addiss
NY, USA
Posts: 3,879
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.009s Queries: 14 (0.002s) Memory: 0.7446 MB (Peak: 0.8617 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-12-13 13:14:47 UTC