ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Calling all Non-US members!! (Non-US only)
by HotLine1. 06/13/18 01:50 PM
GE Lighting Recalls LED Tube Lamps
by Admin. 06/12/18 09:32 PM
Ketra Recalls Recessed Downlights
by Admin. 06/12/18 09:17 PM
diazed fuses
by Texas_Ranger. 06/11/18 07:31 AM
soda can fuse from UK, facebook
by wa2ise. 06/06/18 11:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Plug terminals
Housebilding DIY wiring
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (tomn), 13 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
meters, again! #56978
10/03/05 09:46 PM
10/03/05 09:46 PM
W
wv-wire-wrangler  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 26
Morgantown, WV
Hi All,

Yep, me again with another meter question.

I went down to a couple local electrical supply stores today and annoyed the salesmen (real nice guys) [Linked Image] about their amp-clamp multi-meters.

I looked at a few different meters and the ones that impressed me where the fluke t5 and the Ideal 61-732. A few people on here suggested that I buy the fluke t5 and get a bigger amp clamp type meter later.

Does anyone have any experience with the Ideal 61-732? I was looking at it for my second meter. I will be doing residential and commercial work and the amp clamp on the fluke 330 series meters look like they would be hard to get into a standard service panel.

Sorry if this is a reduntant question. I just don't want to spend my money on something I'll have to replace in a month.

Thanks,
Sam


Samuel A Mercure
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: meters, again! #56979
10/03/05 10:26 PM
10/03/05 10:26 PM
T
Tripp  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 99
I have an Ideal DMM with clamp-on ammeter that i think is the same model as yours. While the clamp-on is the least-used feature on mine, I have had occasion to use in a panel and had no problem with the fit. In all ways i love this meter.

Re: meters, again! #56980
10/04/05 07:50 AM
10/04/05 07:50 AM
J
jw electric  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 106
Asheboro, NC
wv-wire-wrangler you left this part of your profile blank, Occupation:

Where are you in this trade?
Are you a student?
Been the trade thirty years yet?

Based on the answer to the questions above I would make my decision
[Linked Image]


Mike
Re: meters, again! #56981
10/04/05 11:20 AM
10/04/05 11:20 AM
W
wv-wire-wrangler  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 26
Morgantown, WV
Hi JW,

Sorry about that, I didn't really know what to put under occupation.

I am a student. I finished my apprenticship class and passed my test, now taking another for the journeymen. The journeymen test is in november then I will probably go to work after the first of the year in residental and commercial.

Sam


Samuel A Mercure
Re: meters, again! #56982
10/04/05 11:21 AM
10/04/05 11:21 AM
B
Bill39  Offline
Member
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 75
Indianapolis, IN, USA
The Fluke T5 is OK, but has its limitations. It only reads up to 100 amps and the resistance max is 1000 ohms. (if you're going to get one then get the T6 as it is good for 1000V.)

I carry the T6 on my toolbelt instead of a Wiggey now but have a Fluke 87 in my big toolbox if things get complicated.

By the way, don't get rid of your Wiggey-type testers. Sometimes the fancy digital meters lie to you when testing things like PLC input or output modules.

Re: meters, again! #56983
10/04/05 12:29 PM
10/04/05 12:29 PM
M
macmikeman  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 717
Honolulu, Hawaii
I still prefer the "wiggie" style on my pouch. (Knopp is my favorite). There is no on/off switch to toggle. It shakes in my hand when live voltage is contacted. I do not normally work on circuits above 600 volts. There is less room for human error, such as forgetting to turn on the switch when reading for voltages. But I have a fluke t-5 close by for more accurate readings.

Re: meters, again! #56984
10/04/05 01:23 PM
10/04/05 01:23 PM
Z
Zog  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 120
Charlotte, NC
Throw out that wiggy, it is not CAT III rated.


MV/HV Testing Specialist, "BKRMAN"
Re: meters, again! #56985
10/04/05 01:45 PM
10/04/05 01:45 PM
togol  Offline
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 421
NW In. USA
Zog, I just looked at theSq d tester,....the original "Wiggy" , and that thing is still rated for 600V AC operation ....still not protected to 1000V,

I wonder why?

[This message has been edited by togol (edited 10-04-2005).]


Tom
Re: meters, again! #56986
10/04/05 04:24 PM
10/04/05 04:24 PM
W
wv-wire-wrangler  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 26
Morgantown, WV
I don't understand, my wiggy is cat III rated. At least that's what the package said.

It's the Ideal vol-con XL.


Samuel A Mercure
Re: meters, again! #56987
10/04/05 06:51 PM
10/04/05 06:51 PM
H
hypress  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 129
Charleston WV
Last week I had a chance to check my T5-1000 with a high ccrrent test set and found the ammeter not to be verry accurate. I want to look at again I will post my findings at a later date . One must also remember one or two is not a verry good sample but it will give you something to think about.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
noderaser
noderaser
Portland, Oregon, United States
Posts: 404
Joined: March 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
twh 5
Popular Topics(Views)
247,619 Are you busy
184,965 Re: Forum
174,204 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.024s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 1.0266 MB (Peak: 1.2018 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-06-21 00:44:49 UTC