ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
by HotLine1. 03/20/18 07:33 AM
Recall notice: Southwire wi-fi wall switches
by sparkyinak. 03/15/18 06:03 PM
Goodman Manufacturing Recalls Modular Blowers
by Admin. 03/13/18 10:40 PM
MAAX Spas Recalls Hot Tubs and Swim Spas
by Admin. 03/13/18 10:29 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 30 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
AZ to Iowa lic requirements #56366
09/20/05 04:37 PM
09/20/05 04:37 PM
aldav53  Offline OP
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 545
Chandler, AZ USA
I have a residential and commercial license in AZ. But looking at moving to Iowa. Is there anyone from Iowa that knows the requirements for a elec contr lic there? I've been checking with the Labor Div in Iowa.

The Golden Rule - "The man with the gold makes the rule"
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: AZ to Iowa lic requirements #56367
09/20/05 07:42 PM
09/20/05 07:42 PM
Redsy  Offline
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
Bucks County PA
Look here:
and here
By comparison to other states(New Jersey, for example),it seems that Iowa does not have state licensing.
PA is licensed at the local level, and it is very lax.

[This message has been edited by Redsy (edited 09-20-2005).]

Re: AZ to Iowa lic requirements #56368
09/20/05 07:50 PM
09/20/05 07:50 PM
buzzlectric  Offline
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 11
Nevada,IA ,USA
we just have city code/licenese requirements, some are no problem, others go just short of body cavity search. i basicly got told in one town," if your not part of the union or are from my town, don't bother" most are very easy to work with.

Re: AZ to Iowa lic requirements #56369
09/20/05 08:03 PM
09/20/05 08:03 PM
aldav53  Offline OP
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 545
Chandler, AZ USA
These look like Journeyman and Masters license for workers. Do you need these licenses to get the elec contractors license?

The Golden Rule - "The man with the gold makes the rule"
Re: AZ to Iowa lic requirements #56370
09/24/05 05:43 PM
09/24/05 05:43 PM
AllClear  Offline
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 44
Belmond Iowa US
City Licences are all you need in larger citys. In my Case Mason City "Sponsored" me I had to prove 4 years experience as an Apprentice before I could take my Journeymans test. I also took 3 years of an apprentiship program at the local community college. Same deal for my masters, I had to fill out another application to the mason city electrical inspector to take that test. Experior test. They are out of Florida.
Now If I'm ever working in another city in Iowa that requires Licencing all i need to do is go down to the city hall and show them my licence. Pay the Dues usually $20 or $25 and then I'm good for that City for that year. ONLY the larger citys require this. Small towns and rural areas will let any idiot with a roll of romex do what whatever he wants. Occasionally the insurance companies will make people change things. Or the Bank somehow requires a certain service size before approving a loan for buying a house.


It's Not The Fall That Kills You...
It's That Sudden Stop At The End


2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman


Member Spotlight
California ,Long Beach
Posts: 28
Joined: May 2007
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Trumpy 5
Popular Topics(Views)
244,416 Are you busy
181,531 Re: Forum
171,584 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.022s Queries: 14 (0.005s) Memory: 0.9677 MB (Peak: 1.1055 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-03-20 17:31:29 UTC