ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
Recent Posts
VFD MotorFeeders
by Yoopersup. 10/17/17 09:50 AM
What do you do?
by gfretwell. 10/17/17 01:08 AM
Good ol' copper pipe in the fuse holder trick
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:16 PM
Generator Cable Sizing
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:13 PM
Another generator question
by HotLine1. 10/16/17 07:02 PM
New in the Gallery:
Gallery Test
Popular Topics(Views)
241,343 Are you busy
177,293 Re: Forum
168,924 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 67 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#55796 - 09/06/05 07:13 PM arc fault running microwave  
rj  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 21
Skidmore, Missouri, USA
What little I do know about arc fault breakers, should people try to run microwaves and refigerator? I found a acr fault breaker trip and the microwave and refigerator was on this circuit. They told me that it had been tripping out for over a week and they kept resetting the breaker. Now the breaker had to be changed out because it will no longer reset, as soon as you apply power it trips.
I told them not to run the refigerator and microwave on that circuit. I was wondering how much does it take to trip a arc fault and what should not be ran on the circuit. Any ideas of information would be great. Thanks a million


Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades

#55797 - 09/06/05 08:50 PM Re: arc fault running microwave  
renosteinke  Offline
Cat Servant
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 5,316
Blue Collar Country
Rj, there should not be a problem.....I suspect the microwave is nearing the end of its' life, and that is what's causing the problem.


#55798 - 09/06/05 09:09 PM Re: arc fault running microwave  
Electric Eagle  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 914
Alpharetta, GA
It shouldn't be a problem. I'd bet it's tripping due to amperage. We dedicate microve circuits around here so you put the fridge, micro, and who knows what else on it and its bound to trip.


#55799 - 09/06/05 09:15 PM Re: arc fault running microwave  
rj  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 21
Skidmore, Missouri, USA
Ok I should of told you that the microwave pulls 9 amps the the fridge pulls 1.2 amps. So I don't think that it was tripping because of amps. being to high. The breaker gets 3 outlets in the bedroom and the only other thing pluged in was a clock and a lamp with a 60 watt lamp.


#55800 - 09/06/05 11:09 PM Re: arc fault running microwave  
sberry27  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 21
Brethren, MI USA
I have see problems with micros where they use the door all the time as an off/on switch. Those little door switches take a beating, have seen them arc quite violently. I have to keep telling my mother to use the stop button instead of opening the door.


#55801 - 09/07/05 04:01 AM Re: arc fault running microwave  
macmikeman  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 717
Honolulu, Hawaii
quote"Ok I should of told you that the microwave pulls 9 amps the the fridge pulls 1.2 amps." What size and brand of fridge pulls 1.2 amps? That seems to be a little low to me for a fridge.


#55802 - 09/07/05 04:04 AM Re: arc fault running microwave  
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
AFCI's have known conflicts with some types of equipment, and maybe the technology has not caught up with the micro reffer combo. What i do know is that certain types of speed controled motors, and LCD or Plasma TV's and monitors will trip them. It's due to a change in the waveform. The AFCI recongnizes this as an Arch Fault. Seeing that the reffer may be cap start, and the micro is just loaded with them, the circuit may just be doomed to be a nuissiance. So, why do you have AF's in the Kitchen? Is that a 2005 NEC thing?


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason

#55803 - 09/07/05 06:54 AM Re: arc fault running microwave  
Alan Belson  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,803
Mayenne N. France
A 150W compressor should heatpump 450W on a modern machine, = 0.13 tons of refrigeration. That's plenty to chill a small insulated box. However, the starting current might be over 7 amps if the compressor starts loaded, ( there are soft start compressors on the market.)

Alan


Wood work but can't!


Member Spotlight
Niko
Niko
Campbell, CA
Posts: 356
Joined: August 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7935 MB (Peak: 0.9533 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-10-17 20:44:51 UTC