ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
New fan motor for Panasonic
by crselectric. 06/24/19 04:17 PM
Burning out of return(white) side of 120volt rec
by crselectric. 06/14/19 02:15 AM
Video door bell causing chime activation of coil
by JoeTestingEngr. 06/13/19 12:43 PM
Troubleshooting Voltage Drop Across Relay
by gfretwell. 06/09/19 11:49 AM
Apple Recalls Three-Prong Wall Plug Adapters
by Admin. 06/05/19 09:06 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 8 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Service or Sub Feeds #51255
04/26/05 10:27 PM
04/26/05 10:27 PM
S
Sparky_1  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 14
I have not thoroughly looked at this job, I'm going by what the maintains man has told me, I plan on looking at it
tomorrow. 1600 Amp service, four runs of 750? Aluminum, over the 30 years one run has lost a conductor ( shorted out against the
metal conduit). This is a 200'+ run. They are going to increase a 200 HP motor to a 300 HP so they want the service conductors fixed.
So it looked like a matter of trying to pull out the old conductors and replacing with new 750 AL.
My question is the concern if this is a service or a sub feed to the 1600 AMP MDP. A few years back they put in a generator that would
supply the entire location, a feed mill, a elevator and fertilizer building. So are these sub feeds going out from the transfer switch or are they still each independent services?? 750 MCM AL = 385 * 4 = 1540 or 900 MCM AL = 425 * 4 = 1700 Amps

Can four copper conductors be used in one run and keep the existing runs of Aluminum?
If it's possible it probable wouldn't happen anyways, copper costing 2 3/4 times more than Aluminum.

Thanks,

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Service or Sub Feeds #51256
04/27/05 08:15 AM
04/27/05 08:15 AM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Michigan
Question Does Generator have main Breaker??
Question Does The power company feed the transfer switch or is it thru a Breaker?
Next question as this equipment is 30 yrs old have you checked term rateings of the connections?? (60% or 75% rateings. (110.14c)Most likely the runs out of Transfer switch (feeders). 310.4 2002 handbook page 259 states one phase can be alum or copper as each phase is treated indepented of the other.
Curious Voltage of this system?? My guess 120/208 Y. ??A lotta unanswered question here???


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
mersadrad
mersadrad
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 28
Joined: March 2011
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Khombo 2
Popular Topics(Views)
255,847 Are you busy
191,824 Re: Forum
181,600 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.013s Queries: 14 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9434 MB (Peak: 1.0587 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-06-25 03:45:31 UTC