ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
What does your work place look like?
by Bill Addiss - 11/23/20 12:07 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Lostazhell - 11/21/20 04:17 AM
Ground fault remover :-)
by dsk - 11/21/20 02:47 AM
Work Gloves?
by gfretwell - 11/20/20 10:17 PM
Reverse-feeding transformer in PV system?
by winnie - 11/19/20 06:49 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 20 guests, and 16 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
do you wire a bar area the same as a kitchen ? #50280 03/28/05 06:00 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
T
toddyh Offline OP
Junior Member
I have been wiring bar areas just as I do kitchens with 2 circuits on the counter top. Do I need to do that? Some one was telling me I do not and I asked the inspector and he never gave me a straight answer. If you have a article number that would be great thank you guys.
Todd

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: do you wire a bar area the same as a kitchen ? #50281 03/28/05 07:10 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,540
G
gfretwell Offline
Member
If there are no facillities for cooking food I don't believe this is a "kitchen". The only requirement is the GFCI assuming this is a "wet" bar. It could be served from a general lighting circuit IMHO. Certainly nobody will complain about having extra capacity but I doubt 4800va is justified.


Greg Fretwell
Re: do you wire a bar area the same as a kitchen ? #50282 03/28/05 07:14 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 361
C
Celtic Offline
Member
A blender, a microwave, a lamp on the bar...who knows what else?
If you put in an outlet, the owner(comm. or home) will find something to plug into it!


~~ CELTIC ~~
...-= NJ =-...
Re: do you wire a bar area the same as a kitchen ? #50283 03/28/05 10:42 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 681
P
PCBelarge Offline
Member
The only reference to wet bar sinks is 210.8(A)(7).

I do not know of a reference in the NEC that even requires the wet bar counter to have receptacles, let alone having 2 circuits.


Branch circuits required - 210.11(C)

Receptacles required - 210.52

no mention of wet bars in these sections.


Pierre Belarge
Re: do you wire a bar area the same as a kitchen ? #50284 03/29/05 02:39 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
E
e57 Offline
Member
Of course there should be 2 circuits!

One for each blender - Margarita's and Daquerie's


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
MarkC10
MarkC10
CA, Inland Empire
Posts: 43
Joined: September 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
271,875 Are you busy
205,734 Re: Forum
193,842 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3