ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Israel
by annemarie1. 04/18/19 02:35 PM
Welded Copper Connections
by gfretwell. 04/17/19 10:03 PM
Water heater calculationsSo when I count calculati
by watersparkfalls. 04/13/19 12:43 PM
Health Canada Electric Construction heaters recall
by dougwells. 04/12/19 01:22 AM
Burning out of return(white) side of 120volt rec
by richard. 04/08/19 07:12 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 6 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
do you wire a bar area the same as a kitchen ? #50280
03/28/05 07:00 PM
03/28/05 07:00 PM
T
toddyh  Offline OP
Junior Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
budd lake,nj
I have been wiring bar areas just as I do kitchens with 2 circuits on the counter top. Do I need to do that? Some one was telling me I do not and I asked the inspector and he never gave me a straight answer. If you have a article number that would be great thank you guys.
Todd

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: do you wire a bar area the same as a kitchen ? #50281
03/28/05 08:10 PM
03/28/05 08:10 PM
G
gfretwell  Online Content

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,347
Estero,Fl,usa
If there are no facillities for cooking food I don't believe this is a "kitchen". The only requirement is the GFCI assuming this is a "wet" bar. It could be served from a general lighting circuit IMHO. Certainly nobody will complain about having extra capacity but I doubt 4800va is justified.


Greg Fretwell
Re: do you wire a bar area the same as a kitchen ? #50282
03/28/05 08:14 PM
03/28/05 08:14 PM
C
Celtic  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 361
NJ
A blender, a microwave, a lamp on the bar...who knows what else?
If you put in an outlet, the owner(comm. or home) will find something to plug into it!


~~ CELTIC ~~
...-= NJ =-...
Re: do you wire a bar area the same as a kitchen ? #50283
03/28/05 11:42 PM
03/28/05 11:42 PM
P
PCBelarge  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 681
Dobbs Ferry, NY, USA
The only reference to wet bar sinks is 210.8(A)(7).

I do not know of a reference in the NEC that even requires the wet bar counter to have receptacles, let alone having 2 circuits.


Branch circuits required - 210.11(C)

Receptacles required - 210.52

no mention of wet bars in these sections.


Pierre Belarge
Re: do you wire a bar area the same as a kitchen ? #50284
03/29/05 03:39 AM
03/29/05 03:39 AM
E
e57  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
S.F.,CA USA
Of course there should be 2 circuits!

One for each blender - Margarita's and Daquerie's


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
BEAMEUP
BEAMEUP
WA
Posts: 27
Joined: December 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
254,419 Are you busy
190,669 Re: Forum
180,390 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.024s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9683 MB (Peak: 1.1070 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-04-18 22:34:05 UTC