ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Unusual Well Pump Switch Failure
by sabrown - 10/28/20 04:31 PM
Look at this mess...
by InspectorE - 10/27/20 09:09 PM
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/24/20 11:09 AM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 18 guests, and 12 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Conserving wire? #48487 02/13/05 07:01 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Redsy Offline OP
Member
It seems that when wiring a new residence, if you feed the homeruns to the device boxes closest to the panel, less cable could be used.
However, the more I think about it, I don't think it is true.
What do you guys think?

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Conserving wire? #48488 02/13/05 08:34 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 697
D
Dave55 Offline
Member
I wouldn't expect to save any cable by running to the farthest device!

Dave

Re: Conserving wire? #48489 02/13/05 11:16 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Redsy Offline OP
Member
Obviously, homerunning the farthest device would waste wire if you then had to back track to feed devices that you passed over on the way.
I'm just not convinced that, say, starting several different branch runs from the room closest to the panel will result in less wire used overall.

Re: Conserving wire? #48490 02/14/05 12:43 AM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
E
e57 Offline
Member
I know this is a point of contention with those who feel strongly about the use of 2-wire circuits, but 3 and 4-wire ciruits are a savings in wire in themselves.

I try to maximize the use of them, and shed conductors of the circuit at nearest opprotunity, or best suitable location. Like some circuits are just stanard in method now. GB/DW is a 3-wire to a box under the sink. Kitchen Counters = another 3-wire, GFI the start of each. Baths are the same.... 3-wire for vanity recept GFI, and another appropriate 20A on the other.


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
Re: Conserving wire? #48491 02/14/05 03:23 AM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
P
proguy Offline
Junior Member
I also run a ton of three wire. My panel looks verrry pretty. It has alternating colors red-black-red-black. The only sitiuation is for GFI breakers and arc faults. Which brings up a ? I heard from a fellow electrician that you could share a nuetral with arc's. I told him that I never heard that before and went on my way.

What do you guys think about multiple sub panels? Are they cost effective? What size subs do you run for $4k sq/ft homes?

Re: Conserving wire? #48492 02/14/05 08:51 AM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,056
R
Redsy Offline OP
Member
I also use multi-wire ckts. as needed.
But I am trying to reason through whether or not wire is saved by by the method described above. At first thought, it appears so. But the more I think about I don't believe so.

Re: Conserving wire? #48493 02/14/05 10:02 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 39
F
frankft Offline
Member
210.4 says that when a multiwire circuit supplies the same yoke that it needs to be on a 2 pole breaker. My question is say with the 2 SA branch circuits do you put them on a 2 pole breaker just to be safe? It also seems that if somebody else at a later time goes to work on the panel, that they may notice quicker that the are mulitwire circuits in the panel and know not to start rearanging the circuits without thinking about the phasing first.


Thats how we do it up in the woods!
Re: Conserving wire? #48494 02/14/05 10:11 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 56
D
detubbs Offline
Member
if i remember right our inspector allows us to put them on single pole breakers as long as the breakers are on the same phase, so there's no possibility of 240v through a short to a device


Scott
Re: Conserving wire? #48495 02/14/05 10:27 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
iwire Offline
Moderator
Quote
if i remember right our inspector allows us to put them on single pole breakers as long as the breakers are on the same phase, so there's no possibility of 240v through a short to a device

I hope you are not remembering correctly.

Each leg of a multiwire branch circuit must be connected to different buses in the panel.

Any other way can result in overloading the neutral.

Quote
Branch Circuit, Multiwire. A branch circuit that consists of two or more ungrounded conductors that have a voltage between them, and a grounded conductor that has equal voltage between it and each ungrounded conductor of the circuit and that is connected to the neutral or grounded conductor of the system.


In order for the ungrounded conductors to have a 'voltage between them' they must be on opposite panel busses.



[This message has been edited by iwire (edited 02-14-2005).]


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: Conserving wire? #48496 02/14/05 10:35 AM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Electricmanscott Offline
Member
detubbs, dude you are scaring me. [Linked Image] First off Bob pointed out the danger. Second your inspector should go back to school or give up inspecting. Third do you always let the inspector instruct you (incorrectly) on how to do your work? Now for the original question. I din't see a meaningfull savings of wire in the average home. One way or another all the outlets on the circuit have to get wired together. I don't see how starting here vs there makes a difference.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
CDS
CDS
Nicholson Ga
Posts: 34
Joined: June 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
271,034 Are you busy
205,039 Re: Forum
193,154 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3