ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Welded Copper Connections
by gfretwell. 04/17/19 10:03 PM
Water heater calculationsSo when I count calculati
by watersparkfalls. 04/13/19 12:43 PM
Health Canada Electric Construction heaters recall
by dougwells. 04/12/19 01:22 AM
Burning out of return(white) side of 120volt rec
by richard. 04/08/19 07:12 PM
Interesting Knob & Tube setup
by Texas_Ranger. 04/03/19 12:49 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 9 guests, and 8 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Isolated Ground #48157
02/05/05 01:52 AM
02/05/05 01:52 AM
B
buck  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 19
Everett, WA USA
I have a requirement to provide an isolated ground. The customer has asked for the Isolated ground wire to originate at the secondary side of the transformer, XO, and be brought into the panel and landed on an isolated ground bar. I have an existing 1200 amp 120/208 three phase service, exterior meter pack system. The utility transformer is about thirty feet away and comes right into two 600 amp disconnects. The service is grounded/bonded to the water and ground rods per NEC. From this point on the neutral is floating to individual retail locations. I have pulled into the same conduit an isolated ground wire and landed it on an isolated ground bar. Even though it may be isolated it is still electrically the same wire because it is terminated at the same point as the equipment ground.
Is this not a permissible installation of an isolated ground?

The equipment being served is a 30kVA UPS and Telephone Switching gear.


Buck
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Isolated Ground #48158
02/05/05 10:02 AM
02/05/05 10:02 AM
Tom  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,044
Shinnston, WV USA
I don't believe that your utility company is going to provide you with an isolated ground back to Xo on their transformer.

As far as I can tell, you have met the NEC code requirements. I'm glad they didn't ask you to run this isolated ground to an individual ground rod as so many end users do.

Tom


Few things are harder to put up with than the annoyance of a good example.
Re: Isolated Ground #48159
02/05/05 10:08 AM
02/05/05 10:08 AM
I
iwire  Offline
Moderator
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
North Attleboro, MA USA
It should not run back to XO in this case.

In this case running it to the location of the Main bonding jumper at the service disconnect is the correct way to do it.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: Isolated Ground #48160
02/05/05 11:46 AM
02/05/05 11:46 AM
D
dereckbc  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 156
Tulsa, OK
Buck, I think your customer has recieved some information from an engineer or technician who is stating IEEE Emerald specifications, and has confused him/herself.

Emerald specs do call for the IG to originate on the Xo of a customer owned isolation transformer, not a utility owned transformer. As stated already what your customer is asking for will not be permitted by the utility. It would be nice if the utility would supply EGC circuits, but it is not going to happen.

For your application the IG has to originate from the in the disconnect that contains the N-G bond point.

If your customer wants a IEEE spec IG ground, they would need to install a shielded isolation transformer to supply the Telco equipment. This is a common practice, but it is not supplied by the utility. Hope this helps...

Re: Isolated Ground #48161
02/05/05 04:32 PM
02/05/05 04:32 PM
B
buck  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 19
Everett, WA USA
Thank you all for your replies. I'll have to try and educate my end user who took a two day seminar on grounding. Again, thank you.
Rick Buck


Buck
Re: Isolated Ground #48162
02/05/05 06:15 PM
02/05/05 06:15 PM
D
dereckbc  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 156
Tulsa, OK
Buck, now it makes sense. Your client took a ground class and heard the IG should originate from the Xo which is 100% true, except in this case.

Re: Isolated Ground #48163
02/06/05 12:22 AM
02/06/05 12:22 AM
D
dereckbc  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 156
Tulsa, OK
Buck, FWIW I assume your client is going to use the IG circuit to feed a UPS, and the UPS is supplying the telephone equipment. If that is the case an IG is not nessecary to feed a UPS.

Re: Isolated Ground #48164
02/06/05 12:25 AM
02/06/05 12:25 AM
B
buck  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 19
Everett, WA USA
yes, you are absolutely right. Thanks for the second opinion. Buck


Buck
Re: Isolated Ground #48165
02/08/05 01:19 AM
02/08/05 01:19 AM
G
gfretwell  Online Content

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,347
Estero,Fl,usa
Bob is right. An IG for computer stuff should land on the same bus as the main bonding jumper and ground electrode conductor. You want a "star" originating at the MBJ/GEC junction. Grounding should then branch from there in a tree structure so there is no parallel path.
Back in the day we never brought a neutral to a computer room panel (all L/L loads) and we used the isolated neutral bus for the IG. Equipment and raceway grounding was on the bonded supplimental bus.
(In a prior life I was an IPR for IBM designing computer rooms).


Greg Fretwell
Re: Isolated Ground #48166
02/08/05 02:00 AM
02/08/05 02:00 AM
B
buck  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 19
Everett, WA USA
Thank you for the info. - Buck


Buck

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
CDS
CDS
Nicholson Ga
Posts: 34
Joined: June 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
254,412 Are you busy
190,664 Re: Forum
180,384 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.033s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0094 MB (Peak: 1.1816 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-04-18 15:05:26 UTC