ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Insulated Tools: A Waste of Money?
by HotLine1 - 11/26/20 12:28 PM
Happy Thanksgiving
by HotLine1 - 11/26/20 12:11 PM
Ground fault remover :-)
by NORCAL - 11/26/20 08:13 AM
Work Gloves?
by sabrown - 11/25/20 01:54 PM
What does your work place look like?
by Lostazhell - 11/25/20 02:56 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 15 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
custome homes #48116 02/04/05 06:24 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 46
T
ToHo Offline OP
Member
This question would be pointed towards those of you doing the custome homes (4500sq ft +). I was interested in finding out what you install for the services. A 400amp service would seem to be the norm.What type of wire do you usually use? Parallel 4/0 Triplex? What is the typical size for the PVC conduits run? I'm figuring the service to be UG. I figure you might oversize a bit .I install mostly 100amp thru 200amp OH. My last question would pertain to the lugs on the meter. Do you change them out for dual lugs or can you get a meter set up for parallel sets?
Thanks for any insight..ToHo

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: custome homes #48117 02/04/05 07:59 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 81
V
velect Offline
Member
320 amp meter base with double lugs

2-2" pvc conduits with 2/0 copper

2 200 amp 30 circuit panels with mains



[This message has been edited by velect (edited 02-04-2005).]

Re: custome homes #48118 02/04/05 08:11 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
R
Roger Offline
Member
ToHo, out of curiosity, if you were to calculate one of these homes, say a 5000 sq ft with all electric appliances, (Range, Water Heater, A/C, Heat, DW, Pool Pump, and Disposal) what would the numbers be?

Roger

[This message has been edited by Roger (edited 02-04-2005).]

Re: custome homes #48119 02/04/05 09:14 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
E
e57 Offline
Member
I'm with velect on this with the 320A, with 2- 200A to subs in the house. It's actually the only panel you'll easily find for this size. Bear (Grizzely) in mind, these panels a huge (36"x48"+), for a residence. I have not done one over-head, nor would I want to. 4" riser and conductors for 320 continuous across the front of a house is just ugly, and a beast to support. If it is on a sizable property, think about locating it with underground in mind, even if remote from the house at a gate house or such. (For meter reading) They have the money to U/G if they have a house that needs something this size, and if they question it show them a 3"-4" weather head and a piece of 350-500MCM, (Cu-Al) they might change thier minds.


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
Re: custome homes #48120 02/04/05 11:01 PM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 46
T
ToHo Offline OP
Member
Hey Roger..
I'll give it a shot..Here are some quick numbers.

5000x3va per sqft = 15000
2x 1500va small appliance = 3000
laundry = 1500
range = 12000
HW = 2500
DW = 1200
dryer = 5000
first 10kva @100% = 10000
remainder@ 40% = 7880
I'll use the heat (5 rooms)
heat - 9000va @40% = 3600
Your total = 40980va divided by 240
Calculated load = 170.75 amps
...Thanks ToHo

Re: custome homes #48121 02/05/05 01:02 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 15
B
bentruler Offline
Member
If I did this right, 4615 sqft in Seattle. All electric with a decent sized woodshop.

254A.

Re: custome homes #48122 02/05/05 09:40 AM
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 46
T
ToHo Offline OP
Member
no doubt...A detailed load calc would be higher. I did just the basics..
no hot tub,pool heater etc.

Re: custome homes #48123 02/05/05 10:54 AM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 494
M
mustangelectric Offline
Member
Hi,
What percentage would you allow for future expansion?

What is the cost of the 320A setup? What do you sell it at?

-regards
Greg

[This message has been edited by mustangelectric (edited 02-05-2005).]

Re: custome homes #48124 02/05/05 03:20 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 625
S
SolarPowered Offline
Member
Obviously, two 200A panels are much more cost-effective than a 400A panel. But, out of curiosity, what kind of prices are people seeing for 400A panels?

Re: custome homes #48125 02/08/05 12:20 AM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 156
K
kinetic Offline
Member
Maybe I am missing something in your calcs ToHo but I thought heating and cooling was 125% not 40%. What about a 400A All-In-One with a 200A Interior Sub. The Cutler Hammer All-In-One's I use have had 40 spaces for the last three or four years. Guess I am Lucky. The POCO handles the service drops. I just have to install the conduit.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Tom
Tom
Shinnston, WV USA
Posts: 1,044
Joined: January 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
271,971 Are you busy
205,861 Re: Forum
193,930 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3