ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Explored: Basics of PLC
by niamishra. 10/19/18 04:44 AM
Linear Power Supply Quits Under Load
by JoeTestingEngr. 10/18/18 08:47 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by dsk. 10/17/18 01:25 PM
PLC/HMI Enclosure C2, D1
by ghost307. 10/16/18 03:31 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 4 guests, and 25 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Federal Pacific #47793
01/26/05 11:30 PM
01/26/05 11:30 PM
J
jbfan  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 69
Newnan, GA
I have a customer that moved his stove to clean bout behind it. When he replaced it tripped the breaker. He unplugged it and reset the breaker, plugged back in an tripped again. left plugged in and reset the breaker, Sparks then trip. He found that when slid the stove out, the red wire come out of the crimp connection, and shorted to the stove frame. Now the question is where can I find a 50 amp 2 pole breaker so he can cook. I told him he was lucky that it tripped at all. Any ideas?
Thanks, Keith


"Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years to late" Jimmy Buffett
Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Federal Pacific #47794
01/27/05 12:14 AM
01/27/05 12:14 AM
N
nesparky  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 642
omaha,ne
try electrical advisor mag for a breaker remanufacturer or used breaker supplier. I think thier web site is www.ea-online.com


ed
Re: Federal Pacific #47795
01/27/05 12:47 AM
01/27/05 12:47 AM
C
caselec  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 558
San Jose, CA
In my area FPE Stab-Lok breakers are easy to find. Home Depot stocks the UBI brand replacemnets for FPE breakers. I'm sure a Square D dealer could get you a genuine Stab-Lok from Canada. If you can't find one I will get you that names of a few breaker shops in California that will ship to you.

Curt


Curt Swartz
Re: Federal Pacific #47796
01/27/05 04:00 PM
01/27/05 04:00 PM
S
SJT  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
PATCHOGUE, N.Y.
Any chance of changing the ckt. breaker panel. We all know those stablock -Federal Pacific, are no good. Might be good insurance to change out the panel. He would be getting a quality panel as compared to a house fire.

Re: Federal Pacific #47797
01/27/05 04:33 PM
01/27/05 04:33 PM
N
Northbayec  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 27
San Rafael, CA U.S.A
He is lucky that FPE breaker tripped at all. I know a home owner/customer who was doing his own demo and crossed phases (I assume) when ripping out his dryer receptacle - obviously with the circuit still on. [Linked Image] Needless to say he called me - Half his power was off and the 30Amp FPE branch and the 100 main breakers were still on. Upon further investigation there was only the A phase coming into the panel from the meter. Called PG&E and they ended up replacing the meter.

Re: Federal Pacific #47798
01/27/05 09:50 PM
01/27/05 09:50 PM
J
jbfan  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 69
Newnan, GA
I told him that might be the next step. He found one on ebay for $6, but I think I talked him out of that. The hardware store can have him one here on Wed. I will know tomorrow what he has decided. On another note about FPE, A lady where I work lost half her power and called an electrical contractor in the area who charged he $300 to tell her it was the poco problem, but he managed to scare her talking about her FPE panel, then quoted her $3000 to replace it. Most of the older homes in this city have FPE panels.


"Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years to late" Jimmy Buffett
Re: Federal Pacific #47799
01/27/05 10:16 PM
01/27/05 10:16 PM
L
luckyshadow  Offline
Member
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 315
Maryland USA
Lowes sells a breaker that will work in FPE panels. Only about 3 times the cost of other brands. Its sold under the name Federal pioneer and is approved as a replacement use.
I might even have a 2 pole 50 FPE in my storage room - used of course - I save them when I change them out. Never know when one might in handy
Sounds like you have the potential to market service changes in your area.

Re: Federal Pacific #47800
01/28/05 07:29 AM
01/28/05 07:29 AM
S
Steve Miller  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 325
Loudoun Cty, VA
If you're in the DC area go to Alexandria lighting in old town Alexandria.

Re: Federal Pacific #47801
01/28/05 01:35 PM
01/28/05 01:35 PM
J
jbfan  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 69
Newnan, GA
Found one at ACE, cost $53 installed and working like before!


"Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years to late" Jimmy Buffett

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Bill Addiss
Bill Addiss
NY, USA
Posts: 3,903
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 11
Popular Topics(Views)
250,492 Are you busy
188,052 Re: Forum
177,694 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.032s Queries: 14 (0.005s) Memory: 1.0007 MB (Peak: 1.1661 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-10-20 11:18:55 UTC