ECN Shout Chat
Recent Posts
Chinese motors rated 220 v 50 hertz
by gfretwell - 07/23/24 04:45 PM
100 Definitions: Accessible 2023
by gfretwell - 07/23/24 10:12 AM
100 Definitions, Likely to Become Energized, 2023
by gfretwell - 07/23/24 10:08 AM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by emolatur - 07/18/24 01:05 PM
2023 CEU Course
by gfretwell - 07/17/24 01:08 AM
Advertisement:-Left
Recent Gallery Topics:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 75 guests, and 40 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#46841 01/04/05 09:52 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
S
SJT Offline OP
Member
I made a request for a 10 kva transformer be installed. This was supposed to be a single phase trans., and by mistake the electrician started to install a 3 phase. He was going to feed it with 3 phase and then only run single phase to a disconect on the secondary side. We rejected the installation. What effect would this have on the transformer? I know it would be out of balance, but would the secondary output still have the same amperage. I know the installation was wrong, but would it still of worked if we didn't catch the mistake?

Horizontal Ad
#46842 01/04/05 12:01 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 599
J
JBD Offline
Member
A 10KVA single phase transformer would provide 83A per line with a 120V 2 wire connection. Or, you could have 42A per line with a 120/240 3 wire connection.

I am not aware of any 10KVA three phase transformer, so I don't know what the contractor was trying to install. You would need a 30KVA unit to get a single voltage secondary of 83A at 120V. It would not be possible to have a 120/240 3 wire secondary connection with this unit. Also, this arrangement would not be very energy effcient and would require a much larger primary feed.

#46843 01/04/05 03:38 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
S
SJT Offline OP
Member
The trans. the contractor was going to use was a 15kva. Sorry I forgot to mention that.

#46844 01/04/05 03:57 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 156
D
Member
Not sure I complely understand.
First do you have any 240 loads, or are they all 120 loads. If they are all 120 loads you can use the 208Y/120 transformer and keep it balanced. You just distribute the loads evenly with single pole breakers accross the a, b, c.

The advantage of using 3 wire delta input is effiency and reducing harmonic on the line side. So it may have not been a mistake IMO

#46845 01/05/05 02:57 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
S
SJT Offline OP
Member
Thanks for the input. The contractor changed the 15kva 3 phase to a 10kva single phase, which I originally had planned. The loads are single phase, and some single pole breakers.

#46846 01/05/05 04:16 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,527
B
Moderator
 
SJT — Is the 1ø transformer secondary configured 120V 2w, 240V 2w or 120/240V 3w?

#46847 01/06/05 12:04 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
S
SJT Offline OP
Member
The secondary is a 120/240v - 3 wire, and 480v single phase for primary. The 10 kva is a 125lb. wall mounted unit. It was set up on a unistrut stand.

#46848 01/06/05 03:44 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,527
B
Moderator
Thanks for the followup, SJT. On occasion, with a 2-wire primary, some forget that a 3-wire 1ø secondary cannot rely solely on the primary-overcurrent device for secondary overcurrent protection.

Also, if the proposed 15kVA unit was delta-wye or delta-delta powered only on two primary phases, weird voltages may have been present on the resulting 120/208Y 3-wire or 120/240 3-wire circuit, particularly with increasing load.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Advertisement:-Right

* * * * * * *
Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 
* * * * * * *

2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC + Exam Prep Study Guides Now Available!

Member Spotlight
The_Lightman
The_Lightman
Orlando, Fl, USA
Posts: 49
Joined: August 2001
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
323,671 Are you busy
247,971 Re: Forum
231,748 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5