ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
How's all our Non-US folks doing?
by djk - 07/23/21 09:13 PM
Switched Receptacles -Top or Bottom?
by donles - 07/23/21 10:51 AM
Do You Travel?
by Bill Addiss - 07/20/21 04:26 PM
Backup Generator Done Right
by timmp - 07/18/21 12:20 PM
Square D "All-In-One" Panelboard
by Rachel - 07/16/21 04:57 AM
New in the Gallery:
OOPSIE!
OOPSIE!
by timmp, July 13
AT&T Office Thermostat, Summer
AT&T Office Thermostat, Summer
by timmp, July 13
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 23 guests, and 17 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#46841 01/04/05 09:52 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
S
SJT Offline OP
Member
I made a request for a 10 kva transformer be installed. This was supposed to be a single phase trans., and by mistake the electrician started to install a 3 phase. He was going to feed it with 3 phase and then only run single phase to a disconect on the secondary side. We rejected the installation. What effect would this have on the transformer? I know it would be out of balance, but would the secondary output still have the same amperage. I know the installation was wrong, but would it still of worked if we didn't catch the mistake?

#46842 01/04/05 12:01 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 599
J
JBD Offline
Member
A 10KVA single phase transformer would provide 83A per line with a 120V 2 wire connection. Or, you could have 42A per line with a 120/240 3 wire connection.

I am not aware of any 10KVA three phase transformer, so I don't know what the contractor was trying to install. You would need a 30KVA unit to get a single voltage secondary of 83A at 120V. It would not be possible to have a 120/240 3 wire secondary connection with this unit. Also, this arrangement would not be very energy effcient and would require a much larger primary feed.

#46843 01/04/05 03:38 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
S
SJT Offline OP
Member
The trans. the contractor was going to use was a 15kva. Sorry I forgot to mention that.

#46844 01/04/05 03:57 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 156
D
Member
Not sure I complely understand.
First do you have any 240 loads, or are they all 120 loads. If they are all 120 loads you can use the 208Y/120 transformer and keep it balanced. You just distribute the loads evenly with single pole breakers accross the a, b, c.

The advantage of using 3 wire delta input is effiency and reducing harmonic on the line side. So it may have not been a mistake IMO

#46845 01/05/05 02:57 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
S
SJT Offline OP
Member
Thanks for the input. The contractor changed the 15kva 3 phase to a 10kva single phase, which I originally had planned. The loads are single phase, and some single pole breakers.

#46846 01/05/05 04:16 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,527
B
Moderator
 
SJT — Is the 1ø transformer secondary configured 120V 2w, 240V 2w or 120/240V 3w?

#46847 01/06/05 12:04 PM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 241
S
SJT Offline OP
Member
The secondary is a 120/240v - 3 wire, and 480v single phase for primary. The 10 kva is a 125lb. wall mounted unit. It was set up on a unistrut stand.

#46848 01/06/05 03:44 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,527
B
Moderator
Thanks for the followup, SJT. On occasion, with a 2-wire primary, some forget that a 3-wire 1ø secondary cannot rely solely on the primary-overcurrent device for secondary overcurrent protection.

Also, if the proposed 15kVA unit was delta-wye or delta-delta powered only on two primary phases, weird voltages may have been present on the resulting 120/208Y 3-wire or 120/240 3-wire circuit, particularly with increasing load.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
sbi
sbi
indiana
Posts: 47
Joined: March 2008
Top Posters(30 Days)
timmp 4
Rachel 4
Popular Topics(Views)
281,414 Are you busy
215,057 Re: Forum
201,940 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5