ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Burning out of return(white) side of 120volt rec
by crselectric. 06/14/19 02:15 AM
Video door bell causing chime activation of coil
by JoeTestingEngr. 06/13/19 12:43 PM
Troubleshooting Voltage Drop Across Relay
by gfretwell. 06/09/19 11:49 AM
Apple Recalls Three-Prong Wall Plug Adapters
by Admin. 06/05/19 09:06 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 15 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
ECN Chatroom Problems #46768
01/02/05 03:39 PM
01/02/05 03:39 PM
Admin  Offline
OP
Administrator
Member
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,547
NY, USA
Some people are aware of this, but others are not.

The ECN Forum and ChatRoom are two separate and different areas. For convenience, and uniformity an effort has been made to make the same username and password work in both.

However, if you have changed your ECN Forum password (or it has been changed because of change in email address, etc.) your new password may not get you in to the Chat area.

This is because the chat software is not yet properly attuned to changes that are made. This is something that will be addressed at some point, but until that time if anyone has a problem send an email to Webmaster@Electrical-Contractor.net and we'll get it straightened out for you.

Happy New Year!

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: ECN Chatroom Problems #46769
01/05/05 01:02 AM
01/05/05 01:02 AM
Trumpy  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,260
SI,New Zealand
Bill,
There is also another problem for some people that use the Chatrooms as well.
There has been a problem with users having thier connections dropped.
I was reading an article recently in a local Computer magazine,where some-one asked about this problem of losing your ISP connection while connected to a Chat room.
This pertained to a user that was using a 56K Dial-Up Modem.
Now the answer, entailed that the user checked that the Baud Rate for the Modem Port in Device Manager, was set to the correct speed.
I'm not sure that there is anyone around still using a 14.4 or 28.8KB modem, but if they are it should be set to 38400 Baud.
For a 33.6 or 56KB modem it should be set to 57600 Baud.
To find your Port settings:
Start>Control Panel>System>Hardware>Device Manager> Ports(COM and LPT)> Communications Port> Port Settings

Hope this helps someone.


[This message has been edited by Trumpy (edited 01-05-2005).]


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Radar
Radar
Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 349
Joined: April 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Khombo 2
Popular Topics(Views)
255,717 Are you busy
191,688 Re: Forum
181,470 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.019s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9446 MB (Peak: 1.0615 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-06-17 17:27:01 UTC