ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 265 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#46579 12/27/04 01:40 AM
C
Chester Offline OP
I've gota bit of a dumb question, at least in the eyes of some of you pros - but remember that I am only a student.

I am curious as to how I can test current draw on a particular appliance, in this case, a microwave. Now, I have read that soldering can be done with the contacts, getting the test leads hooked up in series with the circuit wires etc. etc. etc....however, I am wondering what is to stop me from simply putting the test leads of my multimeter on the prongs as the current is being drawn and as the appliance is running. Now, this seems to raise a red flag, so I've never done it. Perhaps it's a safety issue. Would this, as least in theory, work?

If not, how do you guys go about actually testing current? Say you are wanting to find out what a motor is drawing and there's no longer a readable label (with wattage/voltage info) on it? I appreciate your answers, as I've always been curious about this.

Chester

#46580 12/27/04 02:02 AM
N