ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Al Hildenbrand - Minneapolis - obituary
by Bill Addiss - 02/03/23 07:38 PM
Violation?
by renosteinke - 01/27/23 09:52 PM
Does NEC 551.71 (F) apply to dwellings?
by BigB - 01/20/23 10:46 AM
Power submeter connections
by HotLine1 - 01/19/23 09:09 AM
New in the Gallery:
Burger King crown sillyness
Burger King crown sillyness
by wa2ise, December 11
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 126 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#45539 12/01/04 06:31 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
B
bigmac Offline OP
Junior Member
It's really clear situation for me with 110/230 voltage system. But on one canadian factory I meet 347/575 v. Usually to get 120 we use a transformer. So question is how the factory get this 575 V and 347 V. Thanx

#45540 12/01/04 06:43 PM
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 444
S
Member
The same way you guys get 480V and 277V.

347V is one phase of a 600V wye to ground.


edit - sorry, I thought this was from US poster. 120V/240V is found on a single phase system. 120V/208V is found on 3 phase system. 347V/600V also found on 3 phase system. With 600V coming into the premises, a xfmr is still needed to get 120V.

[This message has been edited by Sandro (edited 12-01-2004).]

[This message has been edited by Sandro (edited 12-01-2004).]


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *
2023 National Electrical Code (NEC)
2023 NEC Now Available!
 
* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Posts: 165
Joined: March 2007
Top Posters(30 Days)
triple 3
Popular Topics(Views)
303,241 Are you busy
232,227 Re: Forum
216,965 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5