ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/19/20 03:43 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
Beyond Belief
by gfretwell - 09/27/20 12:03 AM
Questioning the electrical norms
by LongRunner - 09/23/20 06:38 AM
Smoke & mirrors?
by HotLine1 - 09/21/20 03:42 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Scott35), 18 guests, and 19 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Replace boxes in brick? #45484 11/30/04 05:03 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 132
M
mhulbert Offline OP
Member
A customer has an outdoor BBQ/Bar made out of concrete with brick over it and tile counters. There are 4-5 1 and 2 gang aluminum bell boxes (WP) embedded/grouted in the brick with sch 40 PVC going into them. Well, they are all corroding inside (near a pool), to the point that the aluminum is disolving into powder and the screws don't stay into the steel plates due to rust, etc. Customer (and myself!) would like to replace these with a longer lasting setup.

Do you guys have any ideas on how to extract these old boxes out, put something new in, and connect the PVC to them? I am at a loss on what to do. I will probably have to get the grout re-done. Oh yeah, money is not much of a problem, he wants it done right, so is there an industrial product or something esoteric I'm missing? Any creative ideas would be excellent. I really don't want to have to rip up a ton of brick and concrete just to replace these boxes. Shame on the original guy for using aluminum in concrete!

Thanks for any help, Mike

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Replace boxes in brick? #45485 11/30/04 05:15 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Electricmanscott Offline
Member
If you can get the old ones out, the new ones should probably be pvc. I can't think of any magic tricks to remove them without some demo.

Re: Replace boxes in brick? #45486 11/30/04 06:06 PM
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 329
S
Steve Miller Offline
Member
I had do remove 1 round FS that corroded. We chipped it out in pieces, put in plastic and used Rocktite (setting concrete). Worked fine.

Re: Replace boxes in brick? #45487 12/02/04 12:10 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 200
U
u2slow Offline
Member
You'd be surpised what you can carve out of brick/concrete with careful use of a rotary hammerdrill.

Providing the conduit is stuck in the concrete, you may be able forgo the box connector and just have the conduit protrude through a hole in the box.

(I worked on a new prison project where the inspector allowed us to omit the box connectors as the conduit and box were embedded in concrete.)

Re: Replace boxes in brick? #45488 12/02/04 12:24 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 132
M
mhulbert Offline OP
Member
I think I will try to chip them out with a rotary hammer plus a pneumatic chissel (mine jackhammer!) I agree that they shouldn't NEED the connectors, as it will be a plastic box with PVC conduit...my only worry is that the insulation may be damaged when I repull the wire. Do they make PVC boxes w/o the slip on hubs, where I can just punch my own KO's ?? A guy on another BB said there is a fitting that looks like a threadless PVC chase nipple that will fit in/around the pipe, anybody know what fitting he's talking about? Seems like it would reduce the internal dia of the conduit.

In any case, if it proves too tricky, it's a call to the mason!


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Joe Tedesco
Joe Tedesco
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Posts: 2,749
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
270,691 Are you busy
204,933 Re: Forum
193,045 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3