ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
"Esoteric" countries and their wiring practices?
by Texas_Ranger. 04/20/19 07:00 PM
Norwegian power?
by Texas_Ranger. 04/20/19 06:27 PM
Welded Copper Connections
by gfretwell. 04/19/19 04:46 PM
Israel
by annemarie1. 04/18/19 02:35 PM
Water heater calculationsSo when I count calculati
by watersparkfalls. 04/13/19 12:43 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 7 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Sub Panel #44937
11/16/04 06:53 AM
11/16/04 06:53 AM
M
Megawatt  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 76
Lexington,Ky, USA
Looking for some ideas on a sub fed panel.
I took over somewhat of a mess on a remodel. The first EC put in a 200 amp three phase panel, for a residential installation that only had 1 A/C unit that was three phase.
Installed all of the existing circuits into the new panel & forgot to dodge the three phase buss.
Needless to say after the GC had to replace most of the major appliances, He decided He had to change EC's.
Now My problem is the new panel doesn't have any more space for all of the new circuits so I'll have to set a Sub.
How much do You Guys think would be the limit for a sub fed panel ???
Looks like it will need to have 10 - 15 amp single pole, 6- 20 amp single pole,3-30 amp double pole breakers.
Any ideas ?
I've just done a walk thru, & only agreed to take it at T&M.
Sure wish I could've started this project....Would've done the service much different.
Thanks in advance

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Sub Panel #44938
11/16/04 07:09 AM
11/16/04 07:09 AM
Z
zapped208  Offline
Member
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 197
Somewhere in USA
Just get a 30 circuit MLO panel and feed it with 100amp breaker.
Main breaker panels are less money though, go figure.


Shoot first, apologize later.....maybe
Re: Sub Panel #44939
11/16/04 09:36 AM
11/16/04 09:36 AM
D
Dave55  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 697
Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Square D QO makes a 100-amp, 32-space panel,Megawatt. I'd also feed it at 100-amp, but I like placing the 240-volt circuits in the main panel. I'd also consider replacing the cover on the main panel instead of using all those breaker knockout plugs.

Dave

Re: Sub Panel #44940
11/16/04 11:33 AM
11/16/04 11:33 AM
N
NJ Wireman  Offline
Member
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 186
New Jersey (South Jersey)
I'd have to agree with dave on replaceing the cover those blanks never hold up and i've seen to many jobs when you open the panel and wham 10 open spots for people to point at, maybe alittle to close one day. For the small cost replace it, it shows you give a crap.

Re: Sub Panel #44941
11/16/04 04:02 PM
11/16/04 04:02 PM
V
velect  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 81
st joseph mi usa
None of the POCOs around here allow 3-phase in any residential application. You could ask the local POCO to change the service to 120/208

Re: Sub Panel #44942
11/16/04 04:59 PM
11/16/04 04:59 PM
C
CharlieE  Offline
Member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 200
Indianapolis
Quote
None of the POCOs around here allow 3-phase in any residential application.
.We have a good set of reason for that.
  • 208 volts does not work as well for electric ranges, ovens, stove tops, dryers, or water heaters.
  • If it is an underground area, we would have to set a three-phase pad mounted transformer and our smallest size is a 75 kVA.
  • We have to get all three phases to the transformer or transformer bank.
  • The customer or developer would have to pay the difference between the projected 30-month revenue and the estimated cost of supplying service.


Unless the circumstances are really unusual, the answer is just plain no. The only exception we make for that is really large apartment or condominium buildings where we are forced to serve the building with 208. [Linked Image]

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Charlie Eldridge, Indianapolis, Utility Power Guy


Charlie Eldridge, Indianapolis Utility Power Guy
Re: Sub Panel #44943
11/16/04 07:42 PM
11/16/04 07:42 PM
M
Megawatt  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 76
Lexington,Ky, USA
Thanks for all the feedback. I hadn't thought of replacing the cover, But it sounds like a worthwhile idea.
I had decided to go with a 30 circuit MLO with a 100 amp feed also, but it's nice to bounce an idea off the LARGEST source of Electrical knowledge in the free world, just to make sure I'm not missing something !!!
Thanks again


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HCE727
HCE727
Delaware County, PA, USA
Posts: 186
Joined: November 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
254,521 Are you busy
190,760 Re: Forum
180,480 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.022s Queries: 14 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9847 MB (Peak: 1.1330 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-04-22 00:44:21 UTC