ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
What does your work place look like?
by Lostazhell - 12/01/20 03:44 AM
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 11/30/20 04:12 PM
Happy Thanksgiving
by gfretwell - 11/30/20 04:04 PM
From an outsider- How does tipping work?
by gfretwell - 11/30/20 04:00 PM
Ground fault remover :-)
by dsk - 11/30/20 03:51 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 20 guests, and 17 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Cat 5E 2 pair #44755 11/10/04 10:07 PM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 3
P
Polar Bear Offline OP
Junior Member
Received some cable for a job today it was CAT 5E 2 Pair, have never seen it before. Is it cost effect and how much is it used. only using one pair for the job.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Cat 5E 2 pair #44756 11/10/04 10:43 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6
V
vars Offline
Junior Member
Hi Polar Bear-

Cat 5e 2 pair is usually used for data communications specifically ethernet and token ring. These data networks usually use one pair for data receive and the other pair for data transmit. I have seen this type of cable come in 2 pair and 4 pair. The pairs are twisted together tightly to prevent crosstalk interference between pairs. Usually for data-comm infrastructure 4-pair cable is used since you need a minimum of 2 pairs if something goes wrong with one pair of wires you still have 2 spares to fall back on, before you have to re-pull the run. 2-pair cable can be pulled to save money but in the long run it could be risky.

Since you are using only one pair this is most probably used for analog voice communications of some sort.

Hope this helps -
vars

Re: Cat 5E 2 pair #44757 11/10/04 11:57 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 886
H
hbiss Offline
Member
Never saw cat 5e in two pair. I have seen cat 5- 2 pair used for patch cords. I didn't think it was possible to maintain the cat 5e characteristics without the other two pair.

You can use it for 10/100 baseT ethernet as only two pairs are used but you will have problems trying to figure out how to terminate it.

Since you are only using this for voice it's no big deal and that's probably about all it's good for. If you are looking for cost effectiveness look at cat 3 for voice but I suspect somebody was trying to unload that stuff real cheap.

-Hal

Re: Cat 5E 2 pair #44758 11/11/04 10:37 PM
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 156
D
dereckbc Offline
Member
Do not think you could even call 2-pair Cat5E. Couldn't be used for 1000Base T systems at all (4-pair technology). Certainly does not meet TIA/EIA-568A-5 standard for Cat5E. Should be OK for POTS, but I wouldn't trust it for ethernet.

Edited spelling errors

[This message has been edited by dereckbc (edited 11-11-2004).]

Re: Cat 5E 2 pair #44759 11/12/04 05:17 AM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 394
B
Big Jim Offline
Member
It is almost always false economy to not provide for expansion. For our building backbone, we pulled 12 strand fiber when we needed two. Today,it's all in use on some of the IDFs

Re: Cat 5E 2 pair #44760 11/12/04 09:32 AM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 16
C
chimo Offline
Member
Your Cat 5 CAN be used for 10/100M Ethernet- The standard refers to the number of twists per inch, and wire gauge. We used to use this when wiring 10M building networks. I have this in my house for my 100M network.


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HotLine1
HotLine1
Brick, NJ USA
Posts: 7,218
Joined: April 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 17
Popular Topics(Views)
272,155 Are you busy
206,034 Re: Forum
194,056 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3