ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Childrens safety outlets
by dsk - 06/25/22 04:07 PM
AC-DC stage Ultra-Fast charger, how it's made?
by libellis - 06/25/22 12:17 PM
Your favourite food?
by NORCAL - 06/16/22 12:06 AM
Price action trading with RENKO
by gfretwell - 06/15/22 02:08 PM
Please Help Wiring DCDC Buck Converter
by gfretwell - 06/15/22 01:58 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 41 guests, and 10 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#44700 11/10/04 01:26 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
R
Ram Offline OP
Junior Member
I am using a desktop pc here in china with a 220 volts/50 hz. power supply.

Is it OK to use that PC in the Philippines which has 220 volts/60 hz. without harming my PC? Since the 2 place have a different frequency standard...

* pc doesnt have any frequency switch selector ;(

#44701 11/10/04 02:04 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 886
H
Member
Maybe, maybe not. And no, you will never see a "frequency" switch.

The first thing I would do is look at the nameplate and the instruction book. Computers are made for the world market and many will auto switch or have a voltage selector switch. If this is the case the different line frequencies will not matter either.

If you really want to be sure otherwise I would contact the manufacturer. Switching power supplies could have problems with different line frequencies unless they are designed for it.

-Hal

#44702 11/10/04 02:17 AM
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
R
Ram Offline OP
Junior Member
i already checked the plate where all the Power supply info is written. It says 50 hz.

I cross-checked some of the machines in the office and some of them has 50hz - 60hz capability. while mine is only at 50hz.

Does this hertz thing matters in this situation? or Is it only the voltage that is important?

#44703 11/10/04 07:22 PM
Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 792
Likes: 2
W
Member
Most PCs use switching power supplies. And most of those power supplies convert the incoming AC into DC, then convert that to high frequency AC to feed a small high frequency transformer, then on the secondary side of that transformer convert it to various DC voltages (12V, 5V and such). Such supplies don't care about powerline frequency as they convert to DC anyway (rectifier diodes and filter caps). Most have a voltage selector switch, this rectifier/cap circuit is a voltage doubler (in 125V mode) or a bridge rectifier (in 250V mode). You could run it off of a DC source of 300VDC if it's set for 250V. The bridge rectifier would just automatically correct the input power's polarity and feed it to the filter caps.

Only if the supply has a circuit that does something about the harmonic content of the current it draws off the powerline could the powerline frequency matter, and most likely it could accomidate 50 or 60Hz anyway. The harmonic currents that tend to overload neutrals in a room full of servers fed by 3 phase 120V power.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
HCE727
HCE727
Delaware County, PA, USA
Posts: 187
Joined: November 2005
Top Posters(30 Days)
triple 3
grich 2
dobler 2
Asset 2
Popular Topics(Views)
293,084 Are you busy
225,069 Re: Forum
210,491 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5