ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Broken Outlet & Dangling Light
by LoneWolf - 06/14/21 08:21 PM
How's all our Non-US folks doing?
by C-H - 06/14/21 05:42 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 06/14/21 12:37 PM
Conduit over Vinyl Siding
by Bill Addiss - 06/14/21 12:35 PM
Switched Receptacles -Top or Bottom?
by Bill Addiss - 06/14/21 12:25 PM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 44 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#43409 10/12/04 01:03 PM
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 1
I
imdaman Offline OP
Junior Member
Yes I'm a novice but this is not a DIY question. I need facts before I can approach my landlord with a complaint. I just found that my entire house (except major appliances) is operating on two 20 amp breakers. One carries 15 outlets and 6 fixtures the other carries 13 outlets and 8 fixtures. This is every room including the bathroom and kitchen even the refrigerator.
Is this a code violation ????
Also there are about 8 breakers which do nothing.

[This message has been edited by imdaman (edited 10-12-2004).]

#43410 10/12/04 01:53 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
It depends on when the building was constructed.

The NEC is not retroactive.

That said, it is possible that there are local amendments, building codes specifically for rental properties that may require somethings to be brought up to present code.

In my area GFCI outlets need to be installed in rental properties meeting the new codes. However we would not have to update the lack of circuits.

[This message has been edited by iwire (edited 10-12-2004).]


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
#43411 10/12/04 06:27 PM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 106
P
Member
I've worked in old buildings where there was only one 15-amp circuit for each apartment. However, if you can prove the wiring was installed after the new codes took effect, you may have a valid complaint.


Power to the people
#43412 10/12/04 08:05 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
Happy Birthday e57 Offline
Member
Not being a wise guy, but... To correct the situation may require moving out for the walls to be opened, and re-wired at which point the whole place should be re-modeled. If this is your only complaint, maybe its time to move?

I hate having to do occupied apt. up-grades. It starts with the complaint to the landlord, who calls us. Then I show up and say, "Well, you need to clear everything 3' from every wall, and under any of the ceiling areas that need work." The tenant ends up with all thier stuff in narrow piles like a maze around the house, and miserable for the duration of the job.

Maybe you'll be lucky and it was done originaly in conduit.

At 180VA per yoke, and the unknown fixture wattage, you're well over the rating for the circuits at the most recent codes. I don't know if that many were ever allowed. But this is more of a 'renters board' question.

An Electrician could be hired to make an assesment of the system, and recommendations, but it's between you and your landloard at the end of it.


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
#43413 10/12/04 08:17 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
R
Member
Mark, 180 va per yoke would not apply in a residential dwelling even if it's a rental.

In residential wiring there is no limit to the number of receptacles on a circuit.


Roger


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
The_Lightman
The_Lightman
Orlando, Fl, USA
Posts: 49
Joined: August 2001
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
Trumpy 10
Popular Topics(Views)
280,356 Are you busy
213,431 Re: Forum
200,352 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5