ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Do we need grounding?
by gfretwell - 04/06/24 08:32 PM
UL 508A SPACING
by tortuga - 03/30/24 07:39 PM
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 142 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#43304 10/08/04 02:05 PM
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 18
D
dturner Offline OP
Member
I have a building that has 20+ outdated panels in different shops. I can get new guts for the panels. Question: If the feeder wires are not long enough can I splice onto them or do I need to pull new feeders? Pulling new ones may be difficult bcause they are underground in a 30 year old building.

#43305 10/08/04 04:42 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
Yes you can splice a feeder.


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
#43306 10/08/04 07:52 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
E
e57 Offline
Member
Yep, an easy and clean way to do it is to put a large pull can the width of the panel above or below the panel with one or two over-size nipples, and take care of all your feeders and other 'too short' wires there too. Make it really clean with some terminal strips for the branches that can't make it either, and insulated lugs for the feeder.


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5