ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
A 5-20(20a) receptacle is legal on a 15a circuit?
by libellis - 10/10/21 12:46 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 10/07/21 03:46 PM
Backup Generator Done Right
by timmp - 10/06/21 02:07 PM
How's all our Non-US folks doing?
by dsk - 09/30/21 05:06 AM
Well I am back to stay (nearly 6 years)
by Bill Addiss - 09/26/21 11:09 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 6 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#43228 10/07/04 09:02 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 697
D
Dave55 Offline OP
Member
Maybe some of the other guys in the Chicagoland area can help me with this one. I don't do new residential work, but I run into it enough. I rarely see anything but 1/2" EMT, and I'm not sure, but I don't think it usually has more than 2 or 3 wires in it. It's all low bid work, so I'm wondering if it's the most economical way. These guys that knock 'em out around here really have it down to a science (production type work).

By the way, I saw a really pretty job a few weeks ago where the electrician had run about 8 pipes parallel and very close together through a couple bends. They all went the same way for about 30'. I just thought it might have been easier to run some 3/4".

I wonder if it has something to do with the time & material of having an extra junction box to split them up down the road.

Dave

#43229 10/07/04 09:20 PM
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 687
A
Member
I think it depends on what the worker is used to. I had guys tell me it took them longer using NM because they don't have a system. It's got to be a saving or the rest of the world would not use it.

If your talking about HR I perfer more smaller ones. Pulling wire goes smother and it keeps things simpler and less chance of mistakes. Also I like to have the HR from panel to the first drop. Some guys will string a 3/4" thru j boxes every 15' and branch it off. Every J box is a bit of a mess.

Last I checked 3/4 was double in price. 1/2 bends a bit quicker.

Tom

#43230 10/07/04 11:26 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 615
J
Member
My brother honed his skills with a new construction production shop. They only ran 1/2 because it was quicker to just stock the job with fewer types of parts and turn the guys loose. Only 1900 bracket boxes. No deep, no 1900 without brackets. If you need one without a bracket, hacksaw it.... and HURRRRY!!!!

They had their system. This to this to this to this.....take it home. ....and HURRRRRRY!!!!

They didn't want to give the installers too many options to ponder and consider. Plus it gives the guys pulling less to possibly screw up. Simplicity kept it moving with less mistakes and allowed less experienced, lower paid guys to work (and hurry) more effectivly.

#43231 10/07/04 11:46 PM
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 2,876
E
e57 Offline
Member
Quote
They all went the same way for about 30'. I just thought it might have been easier to run some 3/4".
Still only going to get the same amount of conductors through it if they were #12 or 14. (the magic number 9, although 6-8 feels better) 3/4 might just make it slightly easier to pull at added cost.


Mark Heller
"Well - I oughta....." -Jackie Gleason
#43232 10/08/04 07:27 AM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,288
Member
I think the limiting factor would be the size of the boxes. It's mighty easy to overfill a 4S (1900, if you will) box.
9-#12 wires or 10-#14, and that's it.

#43233 10/08/04 09:39 AM
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 54
G
Member
how long does it take to rough in a typical, 2 story, 2500 sq ft home, in emt? (with a 2 man crew) how about cost? the only munincipality in WI that I know of that used to require emt was Oshkosh...and that was only required in the basement and garage. I think that they've since dropped that rule.

#43234 10/10/04 12:30 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 697
D
Dave55 Offline OP
Member
There's a union carpenter in the neighborhood that told me the electricians have two days to get the house to rough. He didn't say what size crew it took to get it there.

Dave

#43235 10/10/04 01:45 PM
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,143
D
Member
2 days?

That's pushing it. Of course, if you've got a big enough crew...

#43236 10/10/04 02:06 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 173
S
Member
"If you need one without a bracket, hacksaw it.... and HURRRRY!!!!"
"This to this to this to this.....take it home. ....and HURRRRRRY!!!!'"
"the electricians have two days to get the house to rough."

How the hell do people work like this?? If I had some moron standing behind me telling me to hurry I'd have some place nice to tell them to go.

IF you have to bid the job that low just to get it don't bid the damn job. If you have to just to survive go find another profession.
If I wanted to work on an assembly line I'd go work for GM.

I guess I have more principles than brains.


Speedy Petey

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new." -Albert Einstein
#43237 10/10/04 08:25 PM
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 159
C
CRW Offline
Member
What do you Chicago guys call "rough in"? Just the pipe, or the wire pulled in too. When I lived/worked there, I heard of inspectors failing a rough-in if the wires were in pulled in before they got there.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
electure
electure
Fullerton, CA USA
Posts: 4,288
Joined: December 2000
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 5
wa2ise 1
Popular Topics(Views)
284,570 Are you busy
217,281 Re: Forum
203,631 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5