ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
New fan motor for Panasonic
by HotLine1. 06/25/19 03:53 PM
Burning out of return(white) side of 120volt rec
by crselectric. 06/14/19 02:15 AM
Video door bell causing chime activation of coil
by JoeTestingEngr. 06/13/19 12:43 PM
Troubleshooting Voltage Drop Across Relay
by gfretwell. 06/09/19 11:49 AM
Apple Recalls Three-Prong Wall Plug Adapters
by Admin. 06/05/19 09:06 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 7 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Garage Problem #42962
09/29/04 08:12 PM
09/29/04 08:12 PM
C
CRM  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 74
Alberta Canada
Customer has a detached garage, two circuits are run underground in 10/3 underground cable. Two pole 15 amp breaker in house trips maybe once a day for no apparent reason, I checked connections on both ends, replaced breaker, but it still trips, there is no load on when breaker trips. I,m thinking the underground cable might be damaged, but I don't know. I don't have time waiting around the house waiting for it to trip. How would you guys troubleshoot this problem, thanks for any replies.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Garage Problem #42963
09/29/04 08:25 PM
09/29/04 08:25 PM
E
Edward  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 308
California
I had the same problem sometime ago. Finally i came to the conclusion that it would be the UF cable feeding the BBQ section. So, I hooked up a FLUK 88 meter in series with the circuit and put the setting on the MIN/MAX/AVE setting. Then about evry 5-10 minutes the meter would register 150A,225A or some very high amps like that.(cant remember the exact number but it was very high without any load connected) Any way, I disconnected the UF cable and waited for another 10 Minutes nothing tripped. Reconnected the UF cable after 2 minutes it tripped. So the problem was from the cable somewhere.


Good Luck
Edward

[This message has been edited by Edward (edited 09-29-2004).]


Thanks
Edward
Re: Garage Problem #42964
09/29/04 09:08 PM
09/29/04 09:08 PM
T
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 947
Regina, Sask.
I would use a megger. Ground faults can show on an ohmmeter, but it's a little unreliable.

Re: Garage Problem #42965
09/30/04 01:39 AM
09/30/04 01:39 AM
O
OreElect  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 98
Salem,Oregon.USA
Sounds like you have a fault.
We usually go out and locate the line and paint it.
We then use a fault locater.Isolate both ends,hook up one end to the fault locater voltage output,Adjustable up to 1700 volts.We have a meter with 2 insulated probes connected to it . we poke into to ground on top of the circuit. and follow the needle until we are right on top of the center signal.Dig down and walla,hole in cable. repair it with a heat shrink connector kit,and your ready to reconnect and energize. Works everytime.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Niko
Niko
Campbell, CA
Posts: 356
Joined: August 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
255,877 Are you busy
191,856 Re: Forum
181,618 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.024s Queries: 14 (0.006s) Memory: 0.9598 MB (Peak: 1.0908 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-06-26 16:09:39 UTC