ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Back From Retirement
by Bill Addiss - 08/16/22 09:19 AM
Upside Down ThreeWay
by gfretwell - 08/12/22 12:30 AM
Load Calcs for EVs and RVs
by gfretwell - 08/12/22 12:24 AM
Wiring method choice
by HotLine1 - 08/10/22 03:39 PM
NEC- 314.23 (H) (1)
by renosteinke - 08/10/22 11:13 AM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 37 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
T
Junior Member
Is it legal to put an electric outlet on a circuit that feeds smoke detectors (which have batteries for power outages)? I was asked to do so for a neighbour who removed one of the detectors since there was another around the corner, about 3' away, and he needed an extra outlet.

Any thoughts?

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 186
N
Member
I would not do it, i know they would fail it here in jersey. Smokes get a deadicated circuit and must be marked in the panel. Im sure there has gotta be something else close by to hit up. A switch , another outlet on the other side of the wall? what exactly is your situation as far as lay out?

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 162
C
Member
The NEC appears silent regarding the diversity of equipment that can be connected to the same branch circuit as smoke detectors. I do not believe this would be a violation. I would be concerned with the removal of an existing detection device, are you sure it is not required for area coverage??

Building Codes may contain requirements for circuits that supply 120V Smokes such as you described. But that is ususally another code compliance issue!!

The most controversial issue regarding hard wired smokes concerns the AFCI over-current protection in the bedroom circuits.

Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 444
S
Member
Heh...in Canada we are REQUIRED to put the smokes on a lighting/receptacle circuit.

Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 687
A
Member
A few places asked for a dedicated pipe and circuit for smoke detectors. I know another place the is the other way. They figure if you hook the smokes to the lighting you will notice if the circuit is out sooner.

We did it dedicated pipe and circuit for new construction and dedicated circuit for a lot of remodels.

If the smokes are required to be on an ark fault breaker I think you will find most EC putting them on the bedroom circuit.

Tom

Joined: Nov 2002
Posts: 558
G
Member
We've been putting smokes on with the bedroom ckt for a couple years now. Never had a problem or failed an inspection.


Russell

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 8
T
Junior Member
The reason for this is actually due to incompetence of the builders. When the house was built they covered up the outlet with sheetrock and as a result there is none in the location it's needed.

The HO's don't want to pay $$$ for an electrician to try and locate the box, cut a hole in the sheetrock and install an outlet in it.

The circuit the smoke detectors are on is a dedicated circuit. Since the proposed outlet will only power a TV and VCR, I thought it might not be too much of a load.

I live in an 'unincorporated' part of Texas - part of a county but not a city. Would there be any exepmtions from electrical inspections as a result?

73,


Tim

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 206
C
Member
The HO's don't want to pay $$$ to locate an existing box in the wall, but are willing to pay $$$ for a new outlet tapped off the smoke detector circuit? Wouldn't it be safer to find this covered up box that may have live conductors in it, probably not capped off.

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
L
LK Offline
Member
Are these smokes all interconnected?

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 138
R
Member
At best it should take a couple hours to find the box, cut the hole, and install the outlet and plate. Take a long straight edge, or level, and place it on the wall at outlet height. The sheetrock will bow out where it is covering the box. At least that's the case if the box is sticking out from the stud a 1/2 inch. It's surprising the EC didn't find the box while trimming out.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Potseal
Potseal
Saskatchewan
Posts: 264
Joined: February 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 6
Popular Topics(Views)
295,111 Are you busy
226,711 Re: Forum
211,866 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5