ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 260 guests, and 20 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#4004 09/04/01 10:53 PM
J
johnd24 Offline OP
im an electrical contractor in ohio.Deregulation went into effect the first of the year.so our local power company..Ohio Edison sent all contractors a letter saying"Because distrubution comp. now only provide a portion of customers service,they receive only the distrubution portion of customers bills.They do not cover the expense of services requested by customers.This would include service calls requiring line crews to disconnect and reconnect electric service in order to accomodate contractors doing work at a home or bussiness,i.e. service revamps,dropping a service for tree removal,service for siding jobs,open and close pad mount transformers,etc.Since the cost of these services is not included in our tarrifs,additional costs are required.They will charge customers $200 for disconnecting/reconnecting services.This cost is based on the ability of the customer/contractor to schedule this work with 4 working days notice.Same day notice will be billed at $300.Is this what you guys have to do to get a revamp done in your area?

#4005 09/04/01 11:15 PM
N