ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by gfretwell - 03/28/24 12:43 AM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 260 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#39318 06/16/04 07:39 PM
S
Hello all

I have a question about side work. I'm a union electrician with about 8 months of resi experience and 6 years of commercial.

A friend wants me to do a bid on his shop, and possibly his garage. I have no experience in the bidding process. I feel confindent in wiring the house from start to finish but can somebody out there smell what i'm stepping in?

How do you feel about doing work for friends?

Also I have no insurance, bonding, business licence etc. I'm a jw waiting for dispatch.

I would appretice any advice

#39319 06/16/04 08:55 PM
E
It's one thing to do a small job for a friend, but if you want to stay friends you probably shouldn't do this project. Also, it sounds like you might not be set up right to do a project like this.

#39320 06/16/04 10:22 PM
R
you will be legally (criminally) liable. worse stillyou would be getting paid for it which makes you look twice as bad in a court of law. don't do it.

#39321 06/16/04 11:45 PM