ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Updated Forum Software
by Admin - 06/15/21 10:23 AM
Broken Outlet & Dangling Light
by LoneWolf - 06/14/21 08:21 PM
How's all our Non-US folks doing?
by C-H - 06/14/21 05:42 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 06/14/21 12:37 PM
Conduit over Vinyl Siding
by Bill Addiss - 06/14/21 12:35 PM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 40 guests, and 14 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 246
R
rmiell Offline OP
Member
I recently received this email, from a person I do not know, but am assumming is a home inspector. Post any thoughts you might have.

"Hi Rick, I was doing a home inspection yesterday and I took note that the meter supplying the house was rated for 100 amp 120/240, no problem. I go inside to inspect the panel and I discover that the main disconnect on the panel is 200 amp, further more there is a 60 amp sub panel. So I understand the system is rated for 100 amp ( lowest ), correct? , is the main panel disconnect 200 amp a major concern? I did not take note of the size of feeders to the panel, sorry, I do know that the piping supply was 2", indicating 200 amp SEC.... right?

Confused on this one, and how to report it.....

Any advice?

Thanks in advance."

Thanks for any input to this set of questions.

Rick Miell

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 615
J
Member
Half the time the biggest challange in troubleshooting (especially with somesome who doesn't know the lingo) is figuring out just what the heck he's talking about.

What does he mean that the meter was rated for 100 amp? Is there a sticker that says this? Is there a breaker in meter that is 100amp?

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
RED TAG
Meter 100 amps main breaker 200 amp wire is not protected per code 100 amps , that is even if riser to pwr co. is rated for 100amps.

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 886
H
Member
The POCO can give you any meter they want and size their overhead or UG service conductors any way too. As long as the meter socket and the service conductors on the house are sized for 200 amps per the NEC it's OK.

-Hal

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
If underground the utilty company usually sizes for larger , But over head down the mast owers wire, also from meter into house owners wire. If meters 100 amp breaker inside 200 DUHHH do the math!

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 105
C
Member
sounds like it could have been an upgrade with a new socket, risers, panel and pipe, but no permit? By us, you have to have an approved job and permit to get POCO to change meter. Any sparky can replace service to drop with new riser & wire, replace panel and meter socket(most now are 100/200 amp). ask the inspector to check wire sizes and also see what kind of connectors to POCO lines, if they're brundy's with a lot of tape....

add- (split bolts) to explain "brundy's"

[This message has been edited by chi spark (edited 05-05-2004).]

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 76
M
Member
I believe he may have been looking at the name plate on the front of the meter.
The POCO's meters will often have a printed amperage of 30A or 50A, it isn't unusual to find a 50 amp KWH meter set in a 200 amp meter base.

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 806
N
Member
Have seen a few meters labelled as 15A on 200A services....

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 642
N
Member
Tell the home inspector to get a qualifed electrician to inspect the electrical service. It sounds as if this home inspector does not know what he is talking about.


ed
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,437
Member
On the meter ratings... Usually the "max continuous amperage" of the meter will be displayed with the letters "CL" or current load.. IE.. CL 100 or CL 200 ... the "15A" seen on some meters indicates the load which was placed on the meter at the factory during calibration.. (typically on older meters)

This is info given to me by a San Diego Gas & Electric planner.

-Randy

BTW.... So Cal Edison seems to have their own little code here... 100A underground services are typically fed via #2 AL XPF cable... 200A by 1/0 AL XPF cable.. & they want a 3 inch conduit for the latter... I guess so they can "blow" the wires in! [Linked Image]

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Vlado
Vlado
Croatia
Posts: 28
Joined: February 2011
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 14
Trumpy 10
Popular Topics(Views)
280,364 Are you busy
213,440 Re: Forum
200,360 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5