ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Insulated Tools: A Waste of Money?
by Trumpy - 11/30/20 02:32 AM
Ground fault remover :-)
by Trumpy - 11/30/20 02:27 AM
What does your work place look like?
by NORCAL - 11/29/20 04:38 PM
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 11/27/20 06:18 PM
Happy Thanksgiving
by gfretwell - 11/26/20 08:52 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (Trumpy), 17 guests, and 19 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Interesting home inspector question #37708 05/05/04 07:48 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 246
R
rmiell Offline OP
Member
I recently received this email, from a person I do not know, but am assumming is a home inspector. Post any thoughts you might have.

"Hi Rick, I was doing a home inspection yesterday and I took note that the meter supplying the house was rated for 100 amp 120/240, no problem. I go inside to inspect the panel and I discover that the main disconnect on the panel is 200 amp, further more there is a 60 amp sub panel. So I understand the system is rated for 100 amp ( lowest ), correct? , is the main panel disconnect 200 amp a major concern? I did not take note of the size of feeders to the panel, sorry, I do know that the piping supply was 2", indicating 200 amp SEC.... right?

Confused on this one, and how to report it.....

Any advice?

Thanks in advance."

Thanks for any input to this set of questions.

Rick Miell

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Interesting home inspector question #37709 05/05/04 07:54 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 615
J
Jps1006 Offline
Member
Half the time the biggest challange in troubleshooting (especially with somesome who doesn't know the lingo) is figuring out just what the heck he's talking about.

What does he mean that the meter was rated for 100 amp? Is there a sticker that says this? Is there a breaker in meter that is 100amp?

Re: Interesting home inspector question #37710 05/05/04 07:55 AM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Yoopersup Offline
Member
RED TAG
Meter 100 amps main breaker 200 amp wire is not protected per code 100 amps , that is even if riser to pwr co. is rated for 100amps.

Re: Interesting home inspector question #37711 05/05/04 02:21 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 886
H
hbiss Offline
Member
The POCO can give you any meter they want and size their overhead or UG service conductors any way too. As long as the meter socket and the service conductors on the house are sized for 200 amps per the NEC it's OK.

-Hal

Re: Interesting home inspector question #37712 05/05/04 02:45 PM
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Yoopersup Offline
Member
If underground the utilty company usually sizes for larger , But over head down the mast owers wire, also from meter into house owners wire. If meters 100 amp breaker inside 200 DUHHH do the math!

Re: Interesting home inspector question #37713 05/05/04 04:11 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 105
C
chi spark Offline
Member
sounds like it could have been an upgrade with a new socket, risers, panel and pipe, but no permit? By us, you have to have an approved job and permit to get POCO to change meter. Any sparky can replace service to drop with new riser & wire, replace panel and meter socket(most now are 100/200 amp). ask the inspector to check wire sizes and also see what kind of connectors to POCO lines, if they're brundy's with a lot of tape....

add- (split bolts) to explain "brundy's"

[This message has been edited by chi spark (edited 05-05-2004).]

Re: Interesting home inspector question #37714 05/05/04 04:18 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 76
M
Megawatt Offline
Member
I believe he may have been looking at the name plate on the front of the meter.
The POCO's meters will often have a printed amperage of 30A or 50A, it isn't unusual to find a 50 amp KWH meter set in a 200 amp meter base.

Re: Interesting home inspector question #37715 05/05/04 04:22 PM
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 806
N
NJwirenut Offline
Member
Have seen a few meters labelled as 15A on 200A services....

Re: Interesting home inspector question #37716 05/05/04 10:52 PM
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 642
N
nesparky Offline
Member
Tell the home inspector to get a qualifed electrician to inspect the electrical service. It sounds as if this home inspector does not know what he is talking about.


ed
Re: Interesting home inspector question #37717 05/05/04 11:13 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,435
Lostazhell Offline
Member
On the meter ratings... Usually the "max continuous amperage" of the meter will be displayed with the letters "CL" or current load.. IE.. CL 100 or CL 200 ... the "15A" seen on some meters indicates the load which was placed on the meter at the factory during calibration.. (typically on older meters)

This is info given to me by a San Diego Gas & Electric planner.

-Randy

BTW.... So Cal Edison seems to have their own little code here... 100A underground services are typically fed via #2 AL XPF cable... 200A by 1/0 AL XPF cable.. & they want a 3 inch conduit for the latter... I guess so they can "blow" the wires in! [Linked Image]

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Bill Addiss
Bill Addiss
NY, USA
Posts: 3,964
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
272,103 Are you busy
205,995 Re: Forum
194,031 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3