ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 06/20/21 10:53 PM
Happy Father's Day!
by Bill Addiss - 06/19/21 04:16 PM
A Risky Setup
by timmp - 06/18/21 08:08 PM
Conduit over Vinyl Siding
by Jim M - 06/16/21 08:30 PM
Updated Forum Software
by Admin - 06/15/21 10:23 AM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 13 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 55
T
Member
i am so used to stripping out romex that i have never broken the habit. it has only been mentioned once by an inspector before today, along with who owns ITE brand breakers.
what i wouldnt give to work under a code that featured reason or practicality.

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
Moderator
Huh?


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 449
F
Member
What are you talking about?

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 55
T
Member
maybe i'm not alone, but, whenever i wire an residential AC unit i have always stripped out a piece of romex and ran it inside carlon flex to the unit...a code violation.

by 'stripped out' i mean i removed the jacket and paper.

[This message has been edited by targetshootr (edited 02-20-2004).]

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 269
E
Member
What's the violation?


John
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 524
Member
... I'd love to know why it's a violation...as I do it as well... Any takers???


.."if it ain't fixed,don't break it...call a Licensed Electrician"
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 55
T
Member
even though romex contains thhn, it needs to be thwn, or any wire with 'w'. a typically asinine code distinction.

of course, romex can be skinned and used in the disconnect itself, but not the flex. it is fine in any 3R panel or box, but not in flex.

he also didnt like the murray breaker that i believe is made by siemens. no big deal. i knew that, but the contractor likes to buy breakers to save my $3 mark-up.

no wonder i'm so bitter. lol.

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,287
Member
Sure,
The W is meant for WET locations. Outside.
I've always done it this way doesn't work
It's a violation
Why do you think this is asinine?
It's Code, and you're not




[This message has been edited by electure (edited 02-20-2004).]

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 524
Member
... You mean if I take THHN off a spool, and send it thru a length of Liquid-Tite Metallic Flex,..I'm in violation..??? I always use the metallic type..


[This message has been edited by Attic Rat (edited 02-20-2004).]


.."if it ain't fixed,don't break it...call a Licensed Electrician"
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 55
T
Member
i wouldnt even venture a guess. when it comes to codes issues, disregard all reason and common sense.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
MarkC10
MarkC10
CA, Inland Empire
Posts: 43
Joined: September 2013
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 10
Trumpy 8
Popular Topics(Views)
280,460 Are you busy
213,547 Re: Forum
200,418 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5