ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Broken Outlet & Dangling Light
by LoneWolf - 06/14/21 08:21 PM
How's all our Non-US folks doing?
by C-H - 06/14/21 05:42 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 06/14/21 12:37 PM
Conduit over Vinyl Siding
by Bill Addiss - 06/14/21 12:35 PM
Switched Receptacles -Top or Bottom?
by Bill Addiss - 06/14/21 12:25 PM
New in the Gallery:
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
2020 - 2021 Winter Project
by Bill Addiss, April 29
Garden 2021
Garden 2021
by Bill Addiss, April 26
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 40 guests, and 18 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#34424 02/11/04 08:35 AM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 46
B
Big A Offline OP
Member
Does anybody know why a system has to have a continuous ground? I understand why you would need it in things that were close together but I don't understand why if I have a feed on one side of the street, and a metal cabinet on the other side of the street, these must have a continuous ground. Seperate grounds are not allowed.

Any reasons why?

#34425 02/11/04 08:50 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 524
Member
...So that it can never be disconnected,or the lugs,bugs,etc..become loose and create a high resistance to ground.
AR


.."if it ain't fixed,don't break it...call a Licensed Electrician"
#34426 02/11/04 09:22 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 751
E
Member
To facilitate the operation of the OC device you need a low impedance fault path back to the OC device.


Earl
#34427 02/11/04 03:08 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 46
B
Big A Offline OP
Member
So the OCP will not function with a seperate ground? I guess that makes sense, but wouldn't the difference of potential between the two grounds have to be some huge (say 1 meg ohm) difference?

#34428 02/11/04 03:25 PM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 650
W
Member
Lets say, for example, that the grounding electrode on that remote box had a resistance of 25 ohms. Let us further stipulate that the grounding electrode system on the main panel has a resistance of 15 ohms. You get a dead 'hot to ground' short on the remote box, but you don't have any equipment grounding conductor in the feed to the box. Finally, presume that this is a single phase 120V to ground circuit.

Net result: 3A of current flowing through the ground. The remote box is sitting at 75V to ground, and the circuit breaker won't trip. All you've done is created a shock hazard and wasted electricity heating the earth.

Note: 'Resistance to ground' of a grounding electrode is something of a made up number. You presume that the earth as a whole is a perfect conductor, and then attribute any resistance to current flow to the grounding electrode. But in reality the earth is a real conductor with real resistance, and the distance between your electrodes will matter. Imagine that your two electrodes were driven into the ground parallel to each other and 1cm apart. Clearly the resistance between the electrodes will be lower than the overall resistance to earth. But the approximation is good for electrodes spaced significantly greater than their size.

-Jon


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
akmaster
akmaster
alaska
Posts: 74
Joined: June 2012
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 13
Trumpy 10
Popular Topics(Views)
280,362 Are you busy
213,433 Re: Forum
200,357 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5