ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
What does your work place look like?
by HotLine1 - 11/23/20 03:35 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Lostazhell - 11/21/20 04:17 AM
Ground fault remover :-)
by dsk - 11/21/20 02:47 AM
Work Gloves?
by gfretwell - 11/20/20 10:17 PM
Reverse-feeding transformer in PV system?
by winnie - 11/19/20 06:49 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 21 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Neon lights #33799 01/28/04 03:57 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
sparkync Offline OP
Member
I've got to bid on a job with 6 transformers supplying neon lights. The information on one of the transformers said 240 VA. The transformers are 120 volt on line side. Has anyone done many of these neon lights? Is there any special code requirements other than sizing, overcurrent, etc... I haven't had much success trying to find out in the code... Sort of hectic around my place with the snow, grandchildren etc..... ....
Thanks a lot.. Steve
PS: I'm trying to find out the load on 1 of these transformers. Some reason the 240 VA is confusing me....
Sorry to be so dumb [Linked Image] Thanks again [Linked Image]

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Neon lights #33800 01/28/04 04:25 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
iwire Offline
Moderator
Sparky there is a lot to neon lighting.

Check out these links.

http://www.signweb.com/neon/cont/neonrepair.html

http://www.universalballast.com/techSupport/trouble_shooting/neon_qa.html

There where provided for me when I needed neon help at this thread.

https://www.electrical-contractor.net/ubb/Forum1/HTML/002750.html

Good luck and be careful this stuff can start fires.

Bob


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Re: Neon lights #33801 01/28/04 04:37 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
sparkync Offline OP
Member
Before my ignorance really shows, forget about the 240 VA, equivalent to approx. 240 watts, right??? [Linked Image] I was taught in school before they changed it... years ago... it's coming back to me now, I think [Linked Image] Steve...

BTW the lights are already installed, new lights, I'm just to pull power to the transformers...

Re: Neon lights #33802 01/28/04 05:14 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 830
S
sparkync Offline OP
Member
Ok, grand daughter went home, and I was able to get out my code book. I found the in's and out's of the wiring required. And according to my interpretation of the disconnects required, it says in
Article 600-6 ( 99 code), "Each sign and outline lihgting system, or feeder circuit or branch circuit supplying a sign or outline lighting system, shall be controlled by an externally operable switch or circuit breaker that will open all ungrounded conductors". When it says "each", I assume this means that each transformer is considered a different system, therefore requiring a disconnect at each transformer.
If anyone has a different or better interpretation, I would appreciate your response. Thanks a lot, sorry for all the unneccesary questions. It's one of them rush days... Thanks again.. Steve

Re: Neon lights #33803 01/28/04 07:38 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,215
HotLine1 Offline
Member
Steve:
Check the neon xfr, some of the new ones have a switch factory installed, that is the required disc. 240 va is 2 amps at 120 volts, 6 xfrs = 12 amps, 1-20 amp circuit, (or 15) will work.

As to the actual 'neon' part, the secondary from the xfr, the neon guy probably did that. CYA, buddy, and make sure the AHJ knows that, and the customer is aware of that.

John


John
Re: Neon lights #33804 01/28/04 08:23 PM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 79
C
cavo148 Offline
Member
Steve, you'll need a switch for each primary (supply) circuit within sight of the neon. There are a few options as to where to locate the switch in the code. The reason for the switch is to provide a safe disconnect for the service tech. making repairs to the sign/neon.

Andy

Re: Neon lights #33805 01/30/04 06:27 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,721
Scott35 Offline
Broom Pusher and
Member
The "Cold-Cathode" systems I worked on had a Transformer with Secondary output of 120ma @ 5KV (600 VA), with a 120VAC Primary.
Heavy sucker!
One was sent with a broken Bushing (Insulator), and the replacement took weeeeeeeeeeekkkkkkkssssss to arrive!

Funny thing about the Cold-Cathode Transformer, it had no Secondary GFPE included!

The "Normal" Neon setups I have seen in the last couple years, used Transformers with GFPE sensing for the Secondary + Lamp circuitry.

All setups mentioned here used GTO-15 cable.

Scott35


Scott " 35 " Thompson
Just Say NO To Green Eggs And Ham!
Re: Neon lights #33806 02/01/04 08:52 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 6
B
Batch Offline
Junior Member
You should put one disconnect switch on the back of the wall with the transformers and one disconnect switch should have been installed on the exterior near the channel letters.

It is likely that each transformer could have a different load. So you will have to determine whether a single 20 amp circuit or a 30 amp circuit or double 20 amp cicuits should be used.

In either case use just one switch arranged so that once disconnected their are no live conductors in ANY of the transformer cans.

There are exceptions that allow a lockable disconnect to be located elsewhere but that kinda of circumvents the purpose of the switch in the first place.

Hope that helps. [Linked Image]

Re: Neon lights #33807 02/01/04 08:57 PM
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 6
B
Batch Offline
Junior Member
You should put one disconnect switch on the back of the wall with the transformers and one disconnect switch should have been installed on the exterior near the channel letters.

It is likely that each transformer could have a different load. So you will have to determine whether a single 20 amp circuit or a 30 amp circuit or double 20 amp cicuits should be used.

In either case use just one switch arranged so that once disconnected their are no live conductors in ANY of the transformer cans.

There are exceptions that allow a lockable disconnect to be located elsewhere but that kinda of circumvents the purpose of the switch in the first place.

Hope that helps. [Linked Image]


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
BEAMEUP
BEAMEUP
WA
Posts: 27
Joined: December 2004
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
271,897 Are you busy
205,757 Re: Forum
193,867 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3