ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Happy Thanksgiving
by gfretwell - 11/24/20 05:44 PM
What does your work place look like?
by HotLine1 - 11/23/20 03:35 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Lostazhell - 11/21/20 04:17 AM
Ground fault remover :-)
by dsk - 11/21/20 02:47 AM
Work Gloves?
by gfretwell - 11/20/20 10:17 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (NJwirenut), 21 guests, and 16 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Taping Wirenuts #33769 01/28/04 09:21 AM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 110
M
mvrandazzo Offline OP
Member
Just curious, how many of you guys and gals use electrical tape on a wirenut? In my opinion I never use it. My theroy is if the wirenut is correctly installed it will not have a need for tape. If there are bare wires exposed then you have the wrong wirenut. If you don't want the wirenut to come off in the box then you did not install it correctly. Maybe it is just me but I dispise going into a box to troubleshoot and find all the connections taped. URGH!
Maybe I'm wrong, it won't be the first time.

Blessings,
Mark

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Taping Wirenuts #33770 01/28/04 10:01 AM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,691
S
SvenNYC Offline
Member
I tape all my wirenuts. However I also make sure that I've used the proper splice-cap before wrapping.

I double-check that no loose strands are poking out the bottom, that there's no exposed conductor and then give the nut a slight tug to see if the nut is gripping or if it will slip off.

Then I apply tape. The reason for the tape is just that it's THAT little bit more extra security and also keeps dust and dirt from getting into the connection.

Oh...and I'm a pre-twister!! [Linked Image]

Re: Taping Wirenuts #33771 01/28/04 11:49 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 751
E
earlydean Offline
Member
IMO taping wirenuts is a hold-over from the old Knob & Tube days when all splices were twisted, soldered and taped. The old-timers would tell the young pups they had to tape to do a good job. Us young pups became the old-timers, and the idea is still there. Wirenuts today will do the job just as fine, with or without tape. If you're worried about vibration, dirt, or something, go ahead and tape for your peace of mind. But maybe, your enclosure or termination device is not really appropriate for the purpose or conditions of use. Maybe????


Earl
Re: Taping Wirenuts #33772 01/28/04 12:41 PM
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,457
E
Electricmanscott Offline
Member
Do it right and no need for tape.

Re: Taping Wirenuts #33773 01/28/04 01:02 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,374
R
Ryan_J Offline
Moderator
I've never taped a wire nut, as I don't see the logic in doing so. I have, however, troubleshot or added to circuits with taped wire nuts, and it is miserable getting the sticky black goo all over your hands.


Ryan Jackson,
Salt Lake City
Re: Taping Wirenuts #33774 01/28/04 01:40 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 751
E
earlydean Offline
Member
Poor Ryan, got his hands dirty.


Earl
Re: Taping Wirenuts #33775 01/28/04 02:16 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,691
S
SvenNYC Offline
Member
If you've ever worked with that very old BX cable - the one with the tar-impregnated cloth & rubber insulation over the conductors, you get used to that black goo getting all over your hands.

What's a little adhesive to add to the concoction?

Re: Taping Wirenuts #33776 01/28/04 02:53 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,429
L
LK Offline
Member
Sven,
You brought up a good point, on when you might use tape. If you are working on an older system that used rubber or cloth covered insulation, then use all the tape required to make it a safe repair. As noted most of the old timers would say "Don't forget to tape it up good", and with good reason.

Re: Taping Wirenuts #33777 01/28/04 04:02 PM
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 110
M
mvrandazzo Offline OP
Member
Sven, LK,
Agreed. Use tape where necessary, of course. In the case of old BX and K&T a sleeve is almost a must. In the case of regual NMC I have seen poor splices using a wirenut AND tape and the wirenut still falls off. Connecting stranded and solid also requires a bit of re-assurance. But I've talked to electricians all the time that always do it and I can't get a good explaination as to why other than that is what I was taught. Thanks for the feedback.

Blessings, Mark

Re: Taping Wirenuts #33778 01/28/04 04:16 PM
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 4,391
I
iwire Offline
Moderator
Quote
Do it right and no need for tape.

I tell guys working under me under me "Tape is for Homeowners"

Meaning if you are an electrician you better not need tape hold the wire nut on or to cover loose strands of conductor.

When I was in trade school the instructor, after checking the work on our project board would grab the wire nuts with lineman pliers and try to rip them off or at least get a conductor to pull out.

You learn quick to make a good splice. [Linked Image]


Bob Badger
Construction & Maintenance Electrician
Massachusetts
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
SafetyWired
SafetyWired
Pa, USA
Posts: 44
Joined: July 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
271,918 Are you busy
205,794 Re: Forum
193,888 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3