ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Where is Everyone?
by gfretwell - 11/27/20 06:18 PM
Happy Thanksgiving
by gfretwell - 11/26/20 08:52 PM
Insulated Tools: A Waste of Money?
by HotLine1 - 11/26/20 12:28 PM
Ground fault remover :-)
by NORCAL - 11/26/20 08:13 AM
Work Gloves?
by sabrown - 11/25/20 01:54 PM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 14 guests, and 11 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Watthour Meter Help #33675 01/27/04 10:45 AM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 16
R
Roger Loock Offline OP
Member
I have some GE 15 Amp, 240 Volt single phase watthour meters that I am trying to turn into desk ornaments and would like to get the "wheel" to spin without using a lot of power. Can anyone help?

Thanks, Roger

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Watthour Meter Help #33676 01/27/04 12:36 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 751
E
earlydean Offline
Member
You need to increase the number of turns on the "coils".


Earl
Re: Watthour Meter Help #33677 01/27/04 02:23 PM
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,527
B
Bjarney Offline
Moderator
Connect the meter’s top blades to 120V and a 120V load to the bottom blades. Speed may be disappointing.

Re: Watthour Meter Help #33678 01/27/04 05:14 PM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 16
R
Roger Loock Offline OP
Member
I have 120 connected to one top connection, neutral to the other.

Bottom to a 60 watt bulb. Wheel turns real slow. I was just hoping for it to turn a little faster for the "cool factor".

Thanks, Roger

Re: Watthour Meter Help #33679 01/28/04 06:08 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 246
R
rmiell Offline
Member
You can try taking the magnet off the wheel and de-gaussing it, but, if this is truely a 240v meter, then it will not make much of a difference.

Next time, try getting ahold of a 120v meter. works much better.

Rick Miell

Re: Watthour Meter Help #33680 01/29/04 12:01 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 119
C
ComputerWizKid Offline
Member
Make it into a 3 way lamp 50/100/150 might spin a litter faster


Theres always enough room in the junction box.You just need a bigger hammer
Re: Watthour Meter Help #33681 01/29/04 10:57 AM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 16
R
Roger Loock Offline OP
Member
Thanks guys,
What I am really trying to accomplish is to get the "wheel" spinning without using/waisting power. This is just a novility. I am also installing some blue - red LED's for effect.

Roger

Re: Watthour Meter Help #33682 01/30/04 06:49 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 2,721
Scott35 Offline
Broom Pusher and
Member
About the only way to get the Rotating Register (the "Wheel") to spin fast will be to draw a high level of True Power through the Meter - as it measures "Long-Term" true power consumption (more like draw).

If the Rr was a very low number - like Rr=1, then the Rotating Register would spin fast - as compared to the load drawn through it.

On a two-wire 120VAC KWH Meter, with an Rr of 1, and class rating of <200 Amps, the "Wheel" spins like crazy with a 1KW load drawn through it. I mean it spins so fast, the 360° notch mark cannot be seen, as it flashes by with each RPM!

To achieve a faster spin, the Rr will need to be as low as possible. I would expect the Rr of your Meter to be something like 14-7/9, or more. Sound right? You will see this printed somewhere on the meter - most commonly printed on the Dial Registers' faceplate.

Lastly, the way you have connected the 240VAC KWH Meter is not accurate for that meter's rating. It should have 240 VAC conencted through it for proper KWH reads (I'll double verify this in the books if needed!).

Maybe using a Series Motor to spin the "Wheel" would be an option?!?! A setup like typical floor heaters with blower fans is what I am referring to.
If not, then simply spin it with a variable speed Motor - not series with any loads.

Last options are to rewind / reconfigure the Voltage and Current Transformers within the Meters,
or simply draw a gang-load of True Power through the Meters.

Remember, these things respond to True Power Consumption (how much Wattage is drawn over a period of time), not Volt-Amps or Current; so to make them run faster, they need to see larger levels of power.

Let us know what's up and stuff!

Scott35


Scott " 35 " Thompson
Just Say NO To Green Eggs And Ham!
Re: Watthour Meter Help #33683 01/30/04 09:23 AM
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 66
C
cpalm1 Offline
Member
ive got a lamp with a meter in the base, just like you are building. in fact i think it has the same meter in it. i remember seeing a knob inside the meter that said S<-->F that looks like slow/fast to me. im guessing it's for calibration or something. have you tried playing with that? if it does in fact adjust the speed, i would think it would only be a small adjustment. my meter lamp spins pretty slow too, and i have a 150 watt bulb in it (big room)

Re: Watthour Meter Help #33684 01/30/04 11:29 AM
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 16
R
Roger Loock Offline OP
Member
Here is the info on the meter.
General Electric single phase watthour meter, type I-30-S, Kh=3, 15 Amp, 240 V.,3 wire, 60 cycle, Model AR5,
On the dial register numbers stamped are 33 1/3.

Accuracy is not a concern, I have never worked on one of these before so just trying to make a cool toy.

If I could get the wheel to spin maybe 20 RPM?

I did try adjusting the S--F screw and it did not have any noticable effect.

Thanks guys, Roger

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4

Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
SafetyWired
SafetyWired
Pa, USA
Posts: 44
Joined: July 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Trumpy 9
Popular Topics(Views)
272,071 Are you busy
205,961 Re: Forum
194,010 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3