ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
240V only in a home and NEC?
by HotLine1 - 05/14/24 03:41 PM
Electricians revenge
by gfretwell - 05/09/24 08:24 PM
Safety at heights?
by gfretwell - 04/23/24 03:03 PM
Old low volt E10 sockets - supplier or alternative
by gfretwell - 04/21/24 11:20 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 48 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#3228 08/11/01 02:46 PM
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 22
D
Member
I just spoke on the phone with a homeowner who owns a voltmeter. His clock stopped working overnight. After checking all the usual suspects, he broke out his voltmeter and it read 60 volts where the clock was plugged in. He decided to test the tester and it was reading 120 everywhere else in the house. I didn't know what to tell him; it's usually all or nothing. What would cause this? I've never encountered this situation before. The receptacle is not connected to a wall switch and as far as he could tell(which probably isn't very far) nothing else was connected to that circuit.
Any ideas? Thanks.
BB

#3229 08/11/01 09:19 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 9
K
Junior Member
sounds like a lost neutral on the circuit. it could be from the last recept. that feeds the clock cir. I have found broken 'jumpers' on the recepts. that is when the line and load wires are pigtailed on the four scews on the recepts.

#3230 08/14/01 04:43 PM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
I have no good reason to believe that the clock is on a circuit all by itself.

He needs to test the voltage under load and to the EGC.

#3231 08/14/01 10:47 PM
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 717
G
Member
Hurry, hurry, hurry to that guys house. I've got a bag full of outlets where the neutral was loose on the outlet. Even where the electrician had spliced the neutral and the rest of the circuit was unaffected. The loose noodle on the outlet itself will heat like a stove element, and it WILL get hot enough to start a fire. Start a collection of your own.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5