ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
How's Florida doing with Hurricane Ian?
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:41 PM
Tough being a lineman's kid
by Bill Addiss - 09/28/22 12:39 PM
GFCI's pops in large numbers
by dsk - 09/26/22 04:35 AM
AFCI’s Revisited
by sparky - 09/24/22 09:58 AM
NFPA Price Increase Coming
by Bill Addiss - 09/23/22 02:22 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 39 guests, and 15 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
S
SCS Offline OP
Junior Member
im installing a 100 amp sub in poll barn ,im using PVC and pulling wires .. do i need to pull a ground wire with my feeder conductors ,there will be 2 wires and a nuetral in pipe ,i know i have to drive an additional ground rod at the other building

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,374
R
Moderator
250.32 allows you to use the grounded conductor of the feeder circuit to attach to the grounding electrode of the seperate structure, if you do not pull an equipment grounding conductor.


Ryan Jackson,
Salt Lake City
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
R
Member
Will there be any other conductive paths to the barn? (ie phone line or metalic water pipe etc...)

If so yes, and you would isolate the neutral from the EGC and the ground rod (GEC)connections.

Even if you are not going to have any other conductive paths right now, it is still the best way to do this. (plan for the future)

Roger

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
R
Member
I should have also pointed to 250.32 as Ryan did.

Specificaly 250.32(B)

Roger

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
S
SCS Offline OP
Junior Member
so i should add the EGC
im running 1/0 copper what size should the EGC be ??

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
S
SCS Offline OP
Junior Member
did i say thank you for the fast reply ??

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,374
R
Moderator
Your welcome.

If you decide to use an equipment ground, you cannot use the nuetral for attachment to the grounding electrode.

If you do not pull an equipment ground you may use the nuetral for attachment to the grounding elctrode.

Dealer's choice!


Ryan Jackson,
Salt Lake City
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,374
R
Moderator
I'm sorry i missed half of your question. REmember that EGC's are driven by the size of the breaker, not the size of the conductor. 250.122 tells me that #8 is fine.


Ryan Jackson,
Salt Lake City
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 7
S
SCS Offline OP
Junior Member
thanks guys

Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,716
R
Member
SCS, Welcome to the forum.

I personaly would install the EGC.

Roger

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
richard
richard
L.I. New York
Posts: 99
Joined: August 2003
Top Posters(30 Days)
Popular Topics(Views)
297,485 Are you busy
228,309 Re: Forum
213,196 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5