ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Increasing demand factors in residential
by tortuga - 03/28/24 05:57 PM
Portable generator question
by Steve Miller - 03/19/24 08:50 PM
Do we need grounding?
by NORCAL - 03/19/24 05:11 PM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by dsk - 03/19/24 06:33 AM
Cordless Tools: The Obvious Question
by renosteinke - 03/14/24 08:05 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 260 guests, and 19 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#28910 09/04/03 01:06 PM
A
ALWIRE Offline OP
When you must move/replace the meter can, do most EC's work it hot or call the power co. to shut off the power?
Just trying to get an idea of how this is usually handled.

T
First, I'm not an electrician. Second, I'm in New Jersey. That said...

From the few electricians I've spoken with around here, "by the time the POCO comes out..." I've seen them wire the meters while hot.

I have yet to see PPE used, except for when I did see someone from the POCO "cutting" my neighbor's new service after it was already installed. He had gloves and glasses. I'm not sure if more than that is called for on a residential meter.

I'm sure the others on the board here will have more information for you. Meanwhile, does anybody recall where the photo is of the meter that arc flashed?

S
I usually cut an OH service, then do my work , why work it hot if you don't need to...?

This is contrary to poco rules, so i've researched the state laws here to make sure i'm ok, which i am

B