ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
New tool
by gfretwell - 10/22/20 12:08 PM
Where is Everyone?
by Bill Addiss - 10/17/20 07:04 PM
Beyond Belief
by gfretwell - 09/27/20 12:03 AM
New in the Gallery:
Facebook follies, bad wiring
FPE in Germany pt.2
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 18 guests, and 18 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
SQ. D GFI Circuit Breaker #261 01/05/01 09:11 AM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 5
B
Bob Hinshaw Offline OP
Junior Member
I have a 15 amp GFI circuit breaker that trips everytime the microwave oven is started. The microwave is not on the same circuit as the cb, and no matter what circuit in the house or garage I plug the microwave in, when it is turned on it trips the cb. If the microwave is off, everything works fine. I have changed out the GFI cb with a new one and it still does it. The only way it will work, is with a standard cb. Also, with the microwave plugged in a GFI receptacle, it does not trip it, but will still trip the GFI cb that is on another circuit. The microwave is new. Any suggestions??????????

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: SQ. D GFI Circuit Breaker #262 01/05/01 11:09 AM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 2,236
sparky66wv Offline
Member
Don't know if this is any help, but I've been having a tough time even getting SQ D GFCI Circuit Breakers... Something about a recall, I've been told by my local supplier. And I was also told that the problem with them is inadvertant tripping. The symptoms you're having sounds like the problem that started the recall, but I'm really in the dark here and I'm really guessing big time.

Any additional comments, guys?


-Virgil
Residential/Commercial Inspector
5 Star Inspections
Member IAEI
Re: SQ. D GFI Circuit Breaker #263 01/05/01 12:41 PM
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2
R
RobertW Offline
Junior Member
A micro oven doesnt have to be on a gfci circuit.If you microwave is in the kitchen.it can be pluged in to a dedicated single 20 a recp. the reason your gfi trips on another circuit doesnt make sense.If the micro is pluged in to another one.it is possible you may think its on a diffrent circuit but it could be fed downstream from the gfci breaker or device.

Re: SQ. D GFI Circuit Breaker #264 01/05/01 07:08 PM
Joined: Nov 2000
Posts: 72
B
Bennie R. Palmer Offline
Member
Bob: This is an interesting event. There is always a logical explanation for all effects of electricity. Unfortunately, I do not have an immediate answer, or possibly no answer.
I will investigate the power supplies of micro-wave ovens. I think they present a non linear load. This can produce a distorted sine wave. I will also look at frequencies this produces, and see if there can be some relationship with the sensing system of the other non related device.
Keep us informed if you discover a more sensible resolution, or cause.

Re: SQ. D GFI Circuit Breaker #265 01/05/01 08:55 PM
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 2
J
jeff1 Offline
Junior Member
Hi,

My 1 & 1/4 cents worth ( darn Canadian money )....most microwaves will operate ok on a 15 amp circuit....but with the power output increasing every year ( 800-900-1000-1100 watts ) it may be best to have a 12 gauge 20 amp circuit dedicated for the micro only.
We have run into this with many of the newist micros on the market. A standard outlet and breaker is often best :-)

jeff.
http://www.applianceaid.com/

Re: SQ. D GFI Circuit Breaker #266 01/06/01 08:36 AM
Joined: Oct 2000
Posts: 5,389
S
sparky Offline
Member
I had a situation where a neutral was bad, but it only showed up under a load condition.
I'd be inclined to crank up that wave, and do some metering.... [Linked Image]

Re: SQ. D GFI Circuit Breaker #267 02/24/01 03:17 AM
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 60
S
silverbk Offline
Member
Your problem sounds likeit could be an improper splice. I have seen experienced electricians that do not understand the principal behind a GFCI circuit and splice it incorrectly. It's possible that your ground and neutral are bonded together somewhere in the house. In any event I would suggest getting a shortstop and start looking at your junction boxes.

Re: SQ. D GFI Circuit Breaker #268 02/26/01 09:48 PM
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 1
E
elec3 Offline
Junior Member
The mic should be on a dedicated cicurit.But if you wish to GFCI the mic try a type B GFCI


Featured:

2020 National Electrical Code
2020 National Electrical
Code (NEC)

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
watersparkfalls
watersparkfalls
Washington...Not DC
Posts: 236
Joined: March 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
BigB 3
Popular Topics(Views)
270,742 Are you busy
204,967 Re: Forum
193,087 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3