ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
12 Lead Motor Connection Weird
by emolatur - 01/19/22 02:40 PM
Any women electricians here?
by gfretwell - 01/17/22 01:44 PM
Well There's your problem.
by gfretwell - 01/08/22 12:17 AM
Happy New Year!!
by HotLine1 - 01/04/22 09:50 AM
Sangamo s309.2
by Robski - 12/31/21 04:54 PM
New in the Gallery:
240/208 to a house
240/208 to a house
by wa2ise, October 9
Now you know.
Now you know.
by Tom_Horne, September 7
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 48 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#220048 04/25/19 04:27 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 240
Member
I seem to have stuck in my head that the National Electrical Code requires all commercial buildings to have a minimum of 20 amp breakers...BACK STORY: the job I am on (15 story BLDG in Seattle) has heat pumps (hydronic type) with a MAX over current protection of 15 amps of course they wired them with the cheapest disco possible being a snap switch, hence the 15 amp breaker question, and the simplest fix they want to do.

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with these Exam Prep Combos:
 

>> Master Electrician Exam Prep     >> JourneyMan Electrician Exam Prep
 

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,677
Likes: 9
G
Member
I am unfamiliar with that rule. If the label on the HVAC unit says max breaker is 15 I think you are done. Install a 15 and it is Miller time.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 240
Member
Thanks...What about inrush current on the breaker? Do you think not having time delay fuses will cause nuisance tripping?
Thanks,
h2o

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,288
Likes: 4
Member
H2O

The factory MOCP has inrush calculated within. You have to comply with the nameplate data.

Does it say MOCP....15 amp 'FUSE' or 'HACR-CB' or Fuse/CB.



John
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 240
Member
The nameplate says fuse or HACR breaker...
Thanks again,
H20

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,677
Likes: 9
G
Member
That is pretty much a slam dunk at that point, no matter if there is some local rule or not. You are required to use the manufacturer's installation instructions and on things like MOCD, it could easily be a safety issue. You could make the manufacturer happy if you just used a breaker or a fused disconnect as the local disconnecting device and still have a 20a circuit tho. We see that a lot on AC replacement units when they specify a lower MOCD than the original unit so they just change the breaker in the disconnect. Since you say they are using a snap switch there it would have to be the branch device in the panel.

Last edited by gfretwell; 04/26/19 06:18 PM.

Greg Fretwell
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 240
Member
Thanks...
H20


Link Copied to Clipboard
Featured:

Tools for Electricians
Tools for Electricians
 

* * * * * * *

2020 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2020 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
noderaser
noderaser
Portland, Oregon, United States
Posts: 404
Joined: March 2007
Top Posters(30 Days)
Robski 1
Popular Topics(Views)
288,168 Are you busy
220,239 Re: Forum
206,230 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5