ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
New fan motor for Panasonic
by HotLine1. 06/25/19 03:53 PM
Burning out of return(white) side of 120volt rec
by crselectric. 06/14/19 02:15 AM
Video door bell causing chime activation of coil
by JoeTestingEngr. 06/13/19 12:43 PM
Troubleshooting Voltage Drop Across Relay
by gfretwell. 06/09/19 11:49 AM
Apple Recalls Three-Prong Wall Plug Adapters
by Admin. 06/05/19 09:06 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 13 guests, and 9 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
20amp breakers #220048
04/25/19 05:27 PM
04/25/19 05:27 PM
watersparkfalls  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 233
Washington...Not DC
I seem to have stuck in my head that the National Electrical Code requires all commercial buildings to have a minimum of 20 amp breakers...BACK STORY: the job I am on (15 story BLDG in Seattle) has heat pumps (hydronic type) with a MAX over current protection of 15 amps of course they wired them with the cheapest disco possible being a snap switch, hence the 15 amp breaker question, and the simplest fix they want to do.

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: 20amp breakers [Re: watersparkfalls] #220049
04/25/19 10:19 PM
04/25/19 10:19 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,368
Estero,Fl,usa
I am unfamiliar with that rule. If the label on the HVAC unit says max breaker is 15 I think you are done. Install a 15 and it is Miller time.


Greg Fretwell
Re: 20amp breakers [Re: gfretwell] #220051
04/26/19 02:41 PM
04/26/19 02:41 PM
watersparkfalls  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 233
Washington...Not DC
Thanks...What about inrush current on the breaker? Do you think not having time delay fuses will cause nuisance tripping?
Thanks,
h2o

Re: 20amp breakers [Re: watersparkfalls] #220052
04/26/19 03:43 PM
04/26/19 03:43 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,092
Brick, NJ USA
H2O

The factory MOCP has inrush calculated within. You have to comply with the nameplate data.

Does it say MOCP....15 amp 'FUSE' or 'HACR-CB' or Fuse/CB.


John
Re: 20amp breakers [Re: watersparkfalls] #220053
04/26/19 03:49 PM
04/26/19 03:49 PM
watersparkfalls  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 233
Washington...Not DC
The nameplate says fuse or HACR breaker...
Thanks again,
H20

Re: 20amp breakers [Re: watersparkfalls] #220054
04/26/19 07:16 PM
04/26/19 07:16 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,368
Estero,Fl,usa
That is pretty much a slam dunk at that point, no matter if there is some local rule or not. You are required to use the manufacturer's installation instructions and on things like MOCD, it could easily be a safety issue. You could make the manufacturer happy if you just used a breaker or a fused disconnect as the local disconnecting device and still have a 20a circuit tho. We see that a lot on AC replacement units when they specify a lower MOCD than the original unit so they just change the breaker in the disconnect. Since you say they are using a snap switch there it would have to be the branch device in the panel.

Last edited by gfretwell; 04/26/19 07:18 PM.

Greg Fretwell
Re: 20amp breakers [Re: gfretwell] #220055
04/29/19 04:11 PM
04/29/19 04:11 PM
watersparkfalls  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 233
Washington...Not DC
Thanks...
H20


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
sbi
sbi
indiana
Posts: 47
Joined: March 2008
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 2
Khombo 2
Popular Topics(Views)
255,884 Are you busy
191,858 Re: Forum
181,623 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.026s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9855 MB (Peak: 1.1397 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2019-06-26 20:39:59 UTC