ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
by Rabbit. 03/20/18 08:23 PM
Recall notice: Southwire wi-fi wall switches
by sparkyinak. 03/15/18 06:03 PM
Goodman Manufacturing Recalls Modular Blowers
by Admin. 03/13/18 10:40 PM
MAAX Spas Recalls Hot Tubs and Swim Spas
by Admin. 03/13/18 10:29 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (HotLine1), 19 guests, and 7 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Photocell #219098
01/22/18 11:52 AM
01/22/18 11:52 AM
Docholiday  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
I have a 208-277 photocell on a LED wallpack and the supply voltage is reading 286v. When I cover the photocell the light does not come on but if I disconnect the neutral wire from the B phase and reconnect it the light comes on for 10 secs like normal. The issue is the photocell is covered and the light still turns off. Will the incoming voltage of 286 make the photocell not work correctly because it is out of the voltage range or is it just a bad photocell.

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Photocell [Re: Docholiday] #219099
01/22/18 06:06 PM
01/22/18 06:06 PM
twh  Offline
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 928
Regina, Sask.
Do you have line and load reversed?

Re: Photocell [Re: Docholiday] #219181
02/28/18 08:11 PM
02/28/18 08:11 PM
waymag  Offline
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 68
dallas, texas, USA
That voltage of 286 is actually fine. I would be more concerned if the line and low are backwards like twh stated. You probably have it figured out by now.

Re: Photocell [Re: Docholiday] #219182
03/01/18 09:16 AM
03/01/18 09:16 AM
HotLine1  Online Content

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,936
Brick, NJ USA
The OP said 'if I disconnect the neutral wire from 'b' phase.....' ??

IS that a mis-statement, or does he have 480 volt going to the PC??

Black to line (phase a, b, or c), white to neutral, and red to load.

Re: Photocell [Re: Docholiday] #219194
03/10/18 12:04 AM
03/10/18 12:04 AM
Trumpy  Offline

Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,236
SI,New Zealand
I would like to ask OP what sort of "photo-cell" he is actually using.
It could be that the photo-cell is either set up in the wrong mode or the sensitivity level is set wrong, these things are not "plug and play".
At the end of the day all these things are is a voltage in through two terminals and a single change-over contact on the output (NO/NC), with a common terminal

Last edited by Trumpy; 03/10/18 12:08 AM. Reason: Added last bit.


2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman


Member Spotlight
Posts: 264
Joined: February 2013
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 5
Trumpy 5
Popular Topics(Views)
244,547 Are you busy
181,672 Re: Forum
171,719 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.018s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.9677 MB (Peak: 1.1100 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-03-22 13:37:43 UTC