ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
FPE in Germany
by HotLine1. 01/17/18 07:07 PM
Video: Inventor of the GFCI self-testing shocks
by Texas_Ranger. 01/17/18 05:32 PM
VDE 0100 to introduce AFCIs
by LongRunner. 01/17/18 10:32 AM
Fujifilm Recalls Power Adapter Wall Plugs
by Admin. 01/16/18 07:04 PM
Air Compressor feeder conductor sizing
by Potseal. 01/15/18 09:08 PM
New in the Gallery:
Housebilding DIY wiring
SE cable question
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 14 guests, and 13 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
1600 amp 480/277v 4 wire Y service #218826
10/28/17 10:51 AM
10/28/17 10:51 AM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 840
Michigan
Four Four inch from utility Transformer to CT Cabinet then to MCC. (XHHW).

three 600MCM & one 350 MCM each Conduit .

600 at 75C 420 amps x 4 = 1680 amp.

Very low Neutral load mostly 480 volt loads.

Using 310.15 (5) so no derating.

Engineer wants to use six six inch with four 400 mcm in each conduit.

I think conduit way over sized!

2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides
Re: 1600 amp 480/277v 4 wire Y service [Re: Yoopersup] #218827
10/28/17 11:05 AM
10/28/17 11:05 AM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,166
Estero,Fl,usa
Maybe he got hollered at for spec'ing to small a conduit before.
How long and how many bends?
Sometime what "fits" is not what you want to pull.
Your ampacity looks OK to me


Greg Fretwell
Re: 1600 amp 480/277v 4 wire Y service [Re: Yoopersup] #218828
10/28/17 12:17 PM
10/28/17 12:17 PM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 840
Michigan
transformer to ct cabinet 35 ft .
ct cabinet to mcc max 10 ft.
you figure.????

Re: 1600 amp 480/277v 4 wire Y service [Re: Yoopersup] #218829
10/28/17 08:05 PM
10/28/17 08:05 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,166
Estero,Fl,usa
It might be interesting to ask the engineer what his thinking is on this project. He may have just decided nobody ever got in trouble going too big ... as long as it isn't his money. wink


Greg Fretwell
Re: 1600 amp 480/277v 4 wire Y service [Re: Yoopersup] #218830
10/28/17 09:28 PM
10/28/17 09:28 PM
T
twh  Offline
Member
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 925
Regina, Sask.
Maybe he will be paid a percentage of the job.

Re: 1600 amp 480/277v 4 wire Y service [Re: Yoopersup] #218832
10/29/17 11:53 PM
10/29/17 11:53 PM
S
sparkyinak  Offline
Member
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,328
Alaska
Space for future expansion? Cost pennies now versus dollars later


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Re: 1600 amp 480/277v 4 wire Y service [Re: Yoopersup] #218833
10/30/17 10:33 AM
10/30/17 10:33 AM
Y
Yoopersup  Offline OP
Member
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 840
Michigan
Transformer 1000 KVA ( 1208 Amps ) Switch Gears 1600 amps .

Utility Co. Never sizes as per our calculations. I called them on it.

There reply no problem.

Re: 1600 amp 480/277v 4 wire Y service [Re: Yoopersup] #218835
11/02/17 02:52 PM
11/02/17 02:52 PM
G
ghost307  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 926
Chicago Illinois USA
That happens all the time.
Utilities always go much further into their overload ratings than we do.
I remember seeing (3) 2,500A Switchboards fed from a vault that (when I looked inside) only had a single transformer in it.


Ghost307
Re: 1600 amp 480/277v 4 wire Y service [Re: Yoopersup] #218836
11/02/17 10:21 PM
11/02/17 10:21 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,166
Estero,Fl,usa
That is also pretty common in residential. They put a 50 KVA pole pig on 3 "all electric" homes with 200a panels. I understand most of the time they are still loafing along but there are times I am surprised that they are not smoking.
Take a cool Christmas eve, oven going, 2 or 3 burners going on the cook top every light in the house on plus outdoor lighting, hot water and 15kw heat strips going in the air handlers ... times 3


Greg Fretwell
Re: 1600 amp 480/277v 4 wire Y service [Re: Yoopersup] #218837
11/03/17 06:05 PM
11/03/17 06:05 PM
HotLine1  Offline

Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,917
Brick, NJ USA
Hi guys
Been AWOL for a bit.
Our POCO does not allow any reduced neutrals; no way; all conductors must be full size.
They also 'may' have an issue with 6x6" conduits; next time I talk with my POCO inspector, I'll run it by.

I can't say I've seen anything larger than 4", except for HV


John

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
Joe Tedesco
Joe Tedesco
Boston, Massachusetts USA
Posts: 2,749
Joined: October 2000
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 22
Admin 20
Potseal 13
Popular Topics(Views)
243,530 Are you busy
180,330 Re: Forum
170,821 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.026s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 1.0107 MB (Peak: 1.1911 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-01-18 02:06:02 UTC