ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
240V only in a home and NEC?
by emolatur - 05/18/24 06:12 PM
Electricians revenge
by gfretwell - 05/09/24 08:24 PM
Safety at heights?
by gfretwell - 04/23/24 03:03 PM
Old low volt E10 sockets - supplier or alternative
by gfretwell - 04/21/24 11:20 AM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 44 guests, and 11 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
Four Four inch from utility Transformer to CT Cabinet then to MCC. (XHHW).

three 600MCM & one 350 MCM each Conduit .

600 at 75C 420 amps x 4 = 1680 amp.

Very low Neutral load mostly 480 volt loads.

Using 310.15 (5) so no derating.

Engineer wants to use six six inch with four 400 mcm in each conduit.

I think conduit way over sized!

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
 

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,935
Likes: 34
G
Member
Maybe he got hollered at for spec'ing to small a conduit before.
How long and how many bends?
Sometime what "fits" is not what you want to pull.
Your ampacity looks OK to me


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
transformer to ct cabinet 35 ft .
ct cabinet to mcc max 10 ft.
you figure.????

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,935
Likes: 34
G
Member
It might be interesting to ask the engineer what his thinking is on this project. He may have just decided nobody ever got in trouble going too big ... as long as it isn't his money. wink


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 947
T
twh Offline
Member
Maybe he will be paid a percentage of the job.

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,335
S
Member
Space for future expansion? Cost pennies now versus dollars later


"Live Awesome!" - Kevin Carosa
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
Transformer 1000 KVA ( 1208 Amps ) Switch Gears 1600 amps .

Utility Co. Never sizes as per our calculations. I called them on it.

There reply no problem.

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 984
Likes: 1
G
Member
That happens all the time.
Utilities always go much further into their overload ratings than we do.
I remember seeing (3) 2,500A Switchboards fed from a vault that (when I looked inside) only had a single transformer in it.


Ghost307
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,935
Likes: 34
G
Member
That is also pretty common in residential. They put a 50 KVA pole pig on 3 "all electric" homes with 200a panels. I understand most of the time they are still loafing along but there are times I am surprised that they are not smoking.
Take a cool Christmas eve, oven going, 2 or 3 burners going on the cook top every light in the house on plus outdoor lighting, hot water and 15kw heat strips going in the air handlers ... times 3


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 7,383
Likes: 7
Member
Hi guys
Been AWOL for a bit.
Our POCO does not allow any reduced neutrals; no way; all conductors must be full size.
They also 'may' have an issue with 6x6" conduits; next time I talk with my POCO inspector, I'll run it by.

I can't say I've seen anything larger than 4", except for HV


John

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5