ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Top Posters(30 Days)
dsk 3
Recent Posts
Feed to spa panel
by HotLine1. 06/25/17 05:28 PM
Weatherhead, POA, height?
by HotLine1. 06/24/17 02:37 PM
Windows 7 update problem
by ampherder. 06/21/17 07:01 AM
Norwegian power?
by dsk. 06/19/17 03:40 PM
Anyone ever take a Furnas A14D drum sw apart?
by gfretwell. 06/17/17 08:14 PM
New in the Gallery:
SE cable question
Popular Topics(Views)
238,222 Are you busy
173,433 Re: Forum
166,245 Need opinion
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 62 guests, and 14 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
#218507 - 05/23/17 03:32 PM Dryer, Range grounding from "Main" panel  
sparkync  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 821
NC
Am i correct in saying that a 3 wire can be run to a dryer or range as long as it is run from the 1st set of Mains at the meter?
Thanks


2017 / 2014 NEC & Related Books and Study Guides

#218510 - 05/24/17 12:56 AM Re: Dryer, Range grounding from "Main" panel [Re: sparkync]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,085
Estero,Fl,usa
Before 96 or so that is how it worked. The theory is if the neutral lands on the same bus as the GEC, it is ground. Once you get a ways down a feeder neutral is not ground anymore. Phil Simmonds pointed out that neutral is not ground on the load end of a branch circuit either and he got his change accepted. He said "The war is over" wink


Greg Fretwell

#218515 - 05/24/17 06:23 PM Re: Dryer, Range grounding from "Main" panel [Re: sparkync]  
HotLine1  Offline


Member
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 6,833
Brick, NJ USA
What Greg said is how it was back then

We have an amendment within the NJ adopted version of the NEC that allows it still today, IF it's a replacement appliance, AND the mfg installation paperwork does not accept it. That said, 99.9% of the guys install a 4 wire feeder for appliances. (Period)


John

#218517 - 05/24/17 09:35 PM Re: Dryer, Range grounding from "Main" panel [Re: sparkync]  
gfretwell  Offline


Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,085
Estero,Fl,usa
The ironic thing is most of these I saw prior to 96 were still installed with 3 wire w-g Romex and they either clipped off the ground or bonded to to the box with the neutral landing on the 3 prong receptacle. Putting in the 4 prong might be as simple as just swapping it out.


Greg Fretwell

#218518 - 05/25/17 05:49 PM Re: Dryer, Range grounding from "Main" panel [Re: sparkync]  
sparkync  Offline
Member
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 821
NC
No,this one is around 50 or 60 years old. Range wire was old #6/3 with insulation cracking at range outlet terminals, not to mention a jumper off it of 14/2 feeding a dryer on the opposite side of wall:( and another jumper off of one leg feeding a 120 volt outlet behind the range:( Needless to say, after the feeder going through the brick outside blew up and started smoking, I'm changing the service. What a nightmare it started out to be, but it's taking shape now. Hopefully I'll finish it tomorrow. Got her some temporary power for tonight. Never a dull moment in electrical work.



Member Spotlight
Grover
Grover
Sebago, ME, USA
Posts: 109
Joined: January 2005
Show All Member Profiles 
Featured:

2017 NEC and Related
2017 NEC
Now Available!

Shout Box
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0
Page Time: 0.016s Queries: 15 (0.003s) Memory: 0.7700 MB (Peak: 0.9094 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2017-06-26 01:53:00 UTC