ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Electricians revenge
by gfretwell - 05/23/24 11:15 AM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by emolatur - 05/18/24 06:12 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 60 guests, and 12 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 78
L
Member
I'm installing a 480/120/240 single phase transformer to feed a 150 amp panel 120/240 in a remote wood building which is a air compressor room no steel to bond to 200' away from the main service. Do I need to run a 3/0 from the building steel of the plant which the main service is grounded to to bond the transformer or is two ground rods all I need.

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
 

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,936
Likes: 34
G
Member
I think all you "need" is two 8' ground rods on a 6 gauge GEC. You could make that better with longer rods or a ground ring. I am not sure where a plate ranks because I have never seen one or heard much about them.
I know of no rule that requires running a 250.66 GEC back to the other building. At 200', voltage drop will need to be in your calculations tho


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 78
L
Member
In the past I think a ground testing company made me go back to the grid and I had two rods driven but I'm not sure.


Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5