ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat
Recent Posts
Electricians revenge
by gfretwell - 05/23/24 11:15 AM
240V only in a home and NEC?
by emolatur - 05/18/24 06:12 PM
New in the Gallery:
This is a new one
This is a new one
by timmp, September 24
Few pics I found
Few pics I found
by timmp, August 15
Who's Online Now
1 members (Scott35), 57 guests, and 13 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#216614 01/05/16 01:35 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 240
Member
OK I feel like I should know this off the top of my head, but I am drawing a blank. First question is simply "Can the supplemental grounding electrode conductor go from panel to first ground rod and from that first ground rod to the second in two separate pieces of wire?" In other words use 4 acorns and 2 separate pieces of wire. And secondly when installing a 400 amp service with 2 qty 200 amp panels can I run from the ground rods to the first panel and then unbroken to the second panel/ Or does each service require its own supplemental grounding conductor?

Thanks,
H20

Stay up to Code with the Latest NEC:


>> 2023 NEC & Related Reference & Exam Prep
2023 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides

Pass Your Exam the FIRST TIME with the Latest NEC & Exam Prep

>> 2020 NEC & Related Reference & Study Guides
 

Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,936
Likes: 34
G
Member
Yes, you can splice to a supplemental electrode

From the handbook

[Linked Image from gfretwell.com]

BTW does anyone see the anomaly in the code, demonstrated in the exhibit.


Greg Fretwell
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 849
Y
Member
Yes, you can splice to a supplemental electrode

Ist you MUST make sure it is a supplemental Grounding Conductor not required by Code.

See 250.52./250.53/ 250.64

Splicing 250.64 C

Taping 250.64 D


Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5