ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
ShoutChat Box
Recent Posts
Southwire Recalls Electrical Outlet Boxes
by Admin - 08/21/19 06:39 PM
Fuse blower plug?
by HotLine1 - 08/20/19 01:50 PM
100 year old Light Bulb
by HotLine1 - 08/20/19 01:26 PM
Forum Updates Coming Soon.
by Admin - 08/18/19 01:55 PM
Anybody Remember this?
by Bill Addiss - 08/17/19 09:07 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 8 guests, and 10 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Inductive loads #214865 02/01/15 01:29 PM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 39
A
ANNEMARIE Offline OP
Member
Hi all I've seen it stated that an inductive load like a fluorescent lamp with conventions ballast will put some power back into the supply at or near the zero of the mains cycle. Is this in the form of a pulse that is there for a fraction of a second or is it actually usable by other loads on the same phase. And does it have an effect on the energy meter. Thanks in advance guys I'm having real trouble getting my head around this

Test Equipment:
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement
Large Selection of Test Equipment For Electrical, HVAC, Test & Measurement
Re: Inductive loads [Re: ANNEMARIE] #214867 02/01/15 05:35 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,383
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
This is more just that the current and the voltage are not in phase so you can end up with undesirable current on the neutral. It is most pronounced in 3 phase. At the time when resistive loads are at the peak, the inductive load on another phase is piling on and be adding to the resistive load, burning up the neutral.

It you google up "triplen harmonics", there are plenty of articles about it.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Inductive loads [Re: gfretwell] #214868 02/01/15 06:44 PM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 39
A
ANNEMARIE Offline OP
Member
Thanks for that gfretwell I think I got it now its that inductive loads create harmonics and it's these that circulate round and make a nuicence of themselves

Re: Inductive loads [Re: ANNEMARIE] #214869 02/01/15 08:16 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 25
W
winston_1 Offline
Member
Inductive loads don't create harmonics.

Re: Inductive loads [Re: ANNEMARIE] #214870 02/01/15 08:30 PM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 39
A
ANNEMARIE Offline OP
Member
It looked like that's what the article gfretwell pointed me too said I guess its a combination of fluorescent tube and choke makes all these extra frequency's multiples of 50 cycles otherwise how can you explains the answer to my original question thanks

Re: Inductive loads [Re: ANNEMARIE] #214872 02/01/15 08:52 PM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,383
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
All inductive loads are not created equal but when you are talking about electronic ballasts and PC power supplies (switchers) you are talking about harmonics.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Inductive loads [Re: ANNEMARIE] #214873 02/01/15 09:13 PM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 39
A
ANNEMARIE Offline OP
Member
Yes I think I got it now its all to do with non linear loads and the fact that current flow stops before the zero volts point this creates a little back EMF but of course it happens 100 times per second therefore there are 100 little pulses per second right?

Re: Inductive loads [Re: ANNEMARIE] #214875 02/02/15 01:18 AM
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,383
G
gfretwell Online Content
Member
It is not really back EMF, it is a harmonic. These switching power supplies run at very high frequencies and they generate harmonics. The 3d harmonic just ends up adding to the current on a given phase.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Inductive loads [Re: ANNEMARIE] #214876 02/02/15 02:03 AM
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 8,262
Trumpy Offline
Member
AnnMarie,
If you're talking about a standard wire-wound ballast and switch type starter, then harmonics don't really come into the equation.
It's really only when you get into the phase-chopping aspects of electronic ballasts that harmonics become a thing.

Re: Inductive loads [Re: ANNEMARIE] #214880 02/02/15 11:18 AM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 39
A
ANNEMARIE Offline OP
Member
I know that electronic PSU put all sorts of rubbish on their mains input your only got to go near one with a AM radio and you hear all sorts of squeeks and whistles and I appreciate they also create harmonics of the mains 50 or 60 cycle fundamental frequency. I think that inductive loads also put out a small pulse of energy as the waveform gets near zero this is not as you say a harmonic as such just a low level pulse I hope this isright. Sorry to labour the point im just trying to get it in my head

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
The_Lightman
The_Lightman
Orlando, Fl, USA
Posts: 49
Joined: August 2001
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Admin 21
GeneSF 7
Popular Topics(Views)
257,955 Are you busy
193,682 Re: Forum
183,292 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3