ECN Electrical Forum - Discussion Forums for Electricians, Inspectors and Related Professionals
ECN Shout Chat
Shout Box
Recent Posts
Explored: Basics of PLC
by niamishra. 10/19/18 04:44 AM
Linear Power Supply Quits Under Load
by JoeTestingEngr. 10/18/18 08:47 PM
220/230/240V 60Hz Systems
by dsk. 10/17/18 01:25 PM
PLC/HMI Enclosure C2, D1
by ghost307. 10/16/18 03:31 PM
New in the Gallery:
What is this for?
Plug terminals
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 2 guests, and 27 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Daisy chaining on 2pole 30 amp breaker?? #214139
10/12/14 10:30 PM
10/12/14 10:30 PM
J
JoeJoeB  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Boston, MA
Hello, I'd like some input from licensed electricians in MA please.
I'm a home inspector and I have a builder who wants to install 2 4-wire 30amp outlets on a single 30amp double-pole breaker in a detached garage workshop (arc weld,etc.). Not being a licensed electrician, I can't site the actual code on this one, but my gut is that it's better off being 2 separate circuits. The owner claims that due to his needs he would never be running both at same time. I say, what about the next guy who buys the house who has different plans?
Are these outlets even really engineered to be daisy chained?
Also, even if they were pig-tailed in a separate j-box, the argument that they're protected against overload by the breaker tripping seems weak. I see a tripping breaker as a last line of defense against fire, not something I really want to rely on if I can help it. I've seen so many corroded breakers that don't trip when needed.
What do you guys think? Is there an actual code that says you can or cannot do? Or is this up to the local electrical inspector.
Thx- Joe

Work Gear for Electricians and the Trades
Re: Daisy chaining on 2pole 30 amp breaker?? [Re: JoeJoeB] #214140
10/12/14 11:54 PM
10/12/14 11:54 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,298
Estero,Fl,usa
Are they feeding 2 receptacles? If so, you are not going to find anything.


Greg Fretwell
Re: Daisy chaining on 2pole 30 amp breaker?? [Re: JoeJoeB] #214141
10/13/14 01:26 AM
10/13/14 01:26 AM
T
Tesla  Offline
Member
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,273
Sacramento, CA
He's good to go -- as long as he's using 30A outlets.





Tesla
Re: Daisy chaining on 2pole 30 amp breaker?? [Re: JoeJoeB] #214143
10/13/14 12:50 PM
10/13/14 12:50 PM
G
ghost307  Offline
Member
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 958
Chicago Illinois USA
Absolutely not a problem as long as he uses 10 AWG wire (or larger).

There's no difference between this and allowing more than a single 15A receptacle on a 15A breaker.

If the next guy tries to use both at the same time the breaker will protect things; the same way that the 15A breaker would react to someone running his PC, printer, router, TV, videogame, Xmas tree lights and a bunch of chargers off of a single receptacle in the living room.


Ghost307
Re: Daisy chaining on 2pole 30 amp breaker?? [Re: JoeJoeB] #214144
10/13/14 03:15 PM
10/13/14 03:15 PM
J
JoeJoeB  Offline OP
New Member
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 4
Boston, MA
Appreciate the feedback!

Re: Daisy chaining on 2pole 30 amp breaker?? [Re: JoeJoeB] #214145
10/13/14 03:22 PM
10/13/14 03:22 PM
electure  Offline

Member
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 4,274
Fullerton, CA USA
It all depends which Code it's under.

It's OK by the NEC.

The IRC however, prohibits multiple receptacles on circuits over 20 Amps

Re: Daisy chaining on 2pole 30 amp breaker?? [Re: JoeJoeB] #214146
10/13/14 09:30 PM
10/13/14 09:30 PM
G
gfretwell  Offline

Member
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 9,298
Estero,Fl,usa
Interesting Scott.
Florida did not pick up the IRC electrical articles, simply adopting the NEC, pretty much unaltered. There are only a couple of changes. (adding bonding metal studs and removing the GFCI requirement on some hardwired pool pumps).

Re: Daisy chaining on 2pole 30 amp breaker?? [Re: ghost307] #214148
10/14/14 02:22 PM
10/14/14 02:22 PM
T
Texas_Ranger  Offline
Member
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,430
Vienna, Austria
Originally Posted by ghost307
Absolutely not a problem as long as he uses 10 AWG wire (or larger).

There's no difference between this and allowing more than a single 15A receptacle on a 15A breaker.

If the next guy tries to use both at the same time the breaker will protect things; the same way that the 15A breaker would react to someone running his PC, printer, router, TV, videogame, Xmas tree lights and a bunch of chargers off of a single receptacle in the living room.

Make that a laser printer and add a coffee pot or space heater and you're getting there. All the other gadgets are in the lower double-digit watt range and awfully unlikely to trip a breaker.


Featured:

2017 Master Electrician Exam Preparation Combos
2017 NEC Electrician
Exam Prep Combos:
Master / Journeyman

 

Member Spotlight
waymag
waymag
dallas, texas, USA
Posts: 68
Joined: January 2002
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
sparky 11
Popular Topics(Views)
250,501 Are you busy
188,059 Re: Forum
177,698 Need opinion
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Release build 20180101)
Page Time: 0.020s Queries: 15 (0.004s) Memory: 0.9951 MB (Peak: 1.1549 MB) Zlib enabled. Server Time: 2018-10-20 15:49:41 UTC